Skip to Main Content

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

“The Rub” (Beginnings – 1933)

“The Rub” (Beginnings – 1933)

Episode 1 | See how what was first called “hillbilly music” reaches new audiences through phonographs and radio, and launches the careers of country music’s first big stars, the Carter Family and Jimmie Rodgers.
S1 E1 Length 1:51:30 Premiere: 9.15.19

Program Details

Country Music

About Country Music

Explore the history of country music – from its roots in ballads, hymns and the blues to its mainstream popularity – and meet the unforgettable characters and storytellers who made it “America’s Music.” Directed by Ken Burns.

TV Schedules

Upcoming

No upcoming airdates

Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Country Music: Live at the Ryman

  • Sunday September 6, 2020 9:30 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday September 6, 2020 8:30 pm CT on KET2
  • Saturday September 5, 2020 7:30 pm ET on KET
  • Saturday September 5, 2020 6:30 pm CT on KET
  • Tuesday September 1, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 1, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Season 1: Country Music | Broadcast Version

“Don’t Get Above Your Raisin’” (1984 – 1996)

S1 E8 Length 1:54:03 Premiere Date 9.22.19

“Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way?” (1973 – 1983)

S1 E7 Length 2:19:24 Premiere Date 9.22.19

"Will the Circle Be Unbroken?” (1968 – 1972)

S1 E6 Length 1:51:17 Premiere Date 9.22.19

“The Sons and Daughters of America” (1964 – 1968)

S1 E5 Length 1:54:09 Premiere Date 9.22.19

“I Can’t Stop Loving You” (1953 – 1963)

S1 E4 Length 1:50:53 Premiere Date 9.15.19

“The Hillbilly Shakespeare” (1945 – 1953)

S1 E3 Length 1:53:15 Premiere Date 9.15.19

“Hard Times” (1933 – 1945)

S1 E2 Length 1:52:49 Premiere Date 9.15.19

“The Rub” (Beginnings – 1933)

S1 E1 Length 1:51:30 Premiere Date 9.15.19

Explore KET