Skip to Main Content

Breaking Silences Preview

Gayle King, Jordan Peele, and Issa Rae discover surprising roots.
Preview Season 6 Episode 15 Length 00:30 Premiere: 01/05/21

Sponsored by:

Connections host Renee Shaw smiling in a gray suit along with the show logo and a "Check Schedule" button.Connections host Renee Shaw smiling in a gray suit along with the show logo and a "Check Schedule" button.

Season 6 Episodes

Coming to America

S6 E16 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 01/12/21

Breaking Silences

S6 E15 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Flight

S6 E14 Length 52:40 Premiere Date 11/17/20

War Stories

S6 E13 Length 52:40 Premiere Date 11/10/20

DNA Mysteries

S6 E12 Length 52:45 Premiere Date 10/20/20

Fashion's Roots

S6 E11 Length 52:46 Premiere Date 10/13/20

Criminal Kind

S6 E10 Length 52:16 Premiere Date 02/25/20

Italian Roots

S6 E9 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 02/18/20

Slave Trade

S6 E8 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 02/11/20

Science Pioneers

S6 E7 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 02/04/20

Secrets & Lies

S6 E6 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 01/28/20

Beyond the Pale

S6 E5 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 01/21/20

This Land Is My Land

S6 E4 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 01/14/20

Homecomings

S6 E3 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 01/07/20

Off the Farm

S6 E2 Length 52:36 Premiere Date 10/15/19

Hollywood Royalty

S6 E1 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 10/08/19

Breaking Silences Preview

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Biracial Grandmother

Clip Length 00:42 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Grandfathers History

Clip Length 01:25 Premiere Date 01/05/21

One Third White

Clip Length 00:59 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Sale of Slaves

Clip Length 01:31 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Stronger Sense of Pride

Clip Length 01:05 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Free People of Color

Clip Length 00:25 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Great Grandfather Died in Battle

Clip Length 02:28 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Twisted Family History

Clip Length 00:57 Premiere Date 01/05/21

Season 6 Preview

Preview Length 03:09 Premiere Date 10/08/19

Season 6 Is Back!

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/31/19

New Finding Your Roots Episodes Return This Fall

Preview Length 03:01 Premiere Date 08/05/20

We’re Back! New Finding Your Roots

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 10/13/20

See All Episodes

caret down

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Hidden in the Genes

Rebecca Hall and Lee Daniels learn about family mysteries through DNA detective work, illuminating history and their own identities.

  • Tuesday September 27, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 27, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday September 29, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 29, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday September 30, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 30, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 30, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 30, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday October 2, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday October 1, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Fighters

Terry Crews and Tony Danza discover they aren't the first in their families to beat the odds through sheer force of will.

  • Tuesday October 4, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday October 4, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday October 6, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday October 6, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday October 7, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 7, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET

Write My Name in the Book of Life

Premiered On: 02/16/2021

Musician Pharrell Williams and filmmaker Kasi Lemmons uncover rare first-person accounts of their enslaved ancestors.

  • Tuesday October 11, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday October 11, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday October 13, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday October 13, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday October 14, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 14, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET

Forgotten Journeys

John Leguizamo and Lena Waithe retrace the paths of their ancestors, uncovering crucial pieces of their own identities that were lost on the journey to America.

  • Tuesday October 18, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday October 18, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday October 20, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday October 20, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday October 21, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 21, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET

Activist Roots

Brittany Packnett Cunningham and Anita Hill discover the ancestors who made sacrifices for them.

  • Tuesday October 25, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday October 25, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday October 27, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday October 27, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Off the Farm - S6 E2

  • Sunday September 25, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday September 24, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday September 23, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 23, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday September 23, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 23, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday September 22, 2022 1:30 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 22, 2022 12:30 am CT on KET

Beyond the Pale - S6 E5

  • Monday September 19, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 19, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 19, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 19, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 18, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 18, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday September 15, 2022 1:30 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 15, 2022 12:30 am CT on KET

Roots in Politics - S5 E6

  • Sunday September 18, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday September 17, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday September 16, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 16, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday September 16, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 16, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET

Slave Trade - S6 E8

  • Monday September 12, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 12, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 12, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 12, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 11, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 11, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 11, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday September 10, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday September 9, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 9, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday September 8, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 8, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday September 6, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 6, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

Criminal Kind - S6 E10

  • Monday September 5, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 5, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 5, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 5, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 4, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 4, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 4, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday September 3, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday September 2, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 2, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday September 2, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 2, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday September 1, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 1, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday August 30, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday August 30, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

Fashion's Roots - S6 E11

  • Monday August 29, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday August 29, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Monday August 29, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday August 29, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday August 28, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday August 28, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday August 28, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday August 27, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday August 26, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday August 26, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday August 26, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 26, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
Top

Explore KET