Skip to Main Content

DNA cousins with Angela Bassett

DNA cousins with Angela Bassett

Rosanne Cash learns that she shares an identical stretch of DNA with Angela Bassett.
Clip S7 E6 Length 00:55 Premiere: 2.23.21

Program Details

Finding Your Roots

About Finding Your Roots

For more than a decade, renowned Harvard scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr. has helped to expand America’s sense of itself, stimulating a national conversation about identity with humor, wisdom, and compassion. Professor Gates has explored the ancestry of dozens of influential people from diverse backgrounds, taking millions of viewers deep into the past to reveal the connections that bind us all.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Anchored to the Past

Journalists Gretchen Carlson and Don Lemon were able to overcome biases in their careers, drawing parallels to relatives who met profound challenges of their own.

  • Thursday April 22, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday April 22, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday April 23, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday April 23, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday April 23, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday April 23, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday April 25, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday April 24, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2

On Broadway

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. investigates the family histories of Broadway stars Audra MacDonald and Mandy Patinkin.

  • Tuesday April 27, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 27, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday April 29, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday April 29, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday April 30, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday April 30, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday April 30, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday April 30, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday May 2, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 1, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Laughing on the Inside

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. provides comedians Lewis Black and Roy Wood, Jr. with accounts of hardship in their family trees, which may have led them to find humor in adversity.

  • Tuesday May 4, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 4, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday May 6, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday May 6, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday May 7, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday May 7, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday May 7, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday May 7, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday May 9, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 8, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Funny Business - S4 E10

Amy Schumer, Aziz Ansari, and Maya Rudolph take a serious look at their family trees, learning contrasting stories of assimilation, independence, hardship, and success all over the globe.

  • Friday May 14, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday May 14, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday May 16, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 15, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Grandparents and Other Strangers - S5 E1

Host Henry Louis Gates, Jr. helps actor Andy Samberg and author George R. R. Martin answer some family mysteries when DNA detective work uncovers new branches of their family trees.

  • Friday May 21, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday May 21, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday May 23, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 22, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Anchored to the Past

  • Tuesday April 20, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 20, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET

The New World

  • Sunday April 18, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday April 17, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday April 16, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday April 16, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Thursday April 15, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Thursday April 15, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday April 15, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday April 15, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday April 13, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 13, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET

Immigrant Nation - S4 E5

  • Sunday April 11, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday April 10, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday April 9, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday April 9, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday March 31, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday March 31, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET

The Vanguard - S4 E4

  • Sunday April 4, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday April 3, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday April 2, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday April 2, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday March 24, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday March 24, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET

Freedom Tales - S5 E5

  • Thursday April 1, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday April 1, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday March 30, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday March 30, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET

Puritans and Pioneers - S4 E3

  • Sunday March 28, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday March 27, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday March 26, 2021 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday March 26, 2021 6:00 pm CT on KET2

Unfamiliar Kin - S4 E2

  • Sunday March 21, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday March 20, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET2
Top

Season 7 Episodes

Anchored to the Past

S7 E8 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 4.20.21

The New World

S7 E7 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 4.13.21

Country Roots

S7 E6 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 2.23.21

Write My Name in the Book of Life

S7 E5 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 2.16.21

The Shirts on Their Backs

S7 E4 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 2.9.21

No Irish Need Apply

S7 E3 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 2.2.21

Against All Odds

S7 E2 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 1.26.21

To the Manor Born

S7 E1 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 1.19.21

Country Roots Preview

Preview Length 00:34 Premiere Date 2.23.21

A Descendant of a Musician

Clip Length 00:50 Premiere Date 2.23.21

Revolutionary War Hero

Clip Length 01:14 Premiere Date 2.23.21

A Surprise in DNA

Clip Length 01:14 Premiere Date 2.23.21

Johnny Cash was an Amateur Genealogist

Clip Length 01:12 Premiere Date 2.23.21

African American Ancestry

Clip Length 01:27 Premiere Date 2.23.21

DNA cousins with Angela Bassett

Clip Length 00:55 Premiere Date 2.23.21

Season 7 Official Preview

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 1.19.21

Season 7 Inside Look

Preview Length 02:00 Premiere Date 1.19.21

FACES OF AMERICA: Mike Nichols' Escape from Nazi Germany

Clip Length 04:54 Premiere Date 12.20.10

FACES OF AMERICA: Mike Nichols' Famous German Ancestor

Clip Length 01:59 Premiere Date 12.20.10

Explore KET