Skip to Main Content

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

Homecomings

Homecomings

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. helps actor Sterling K. Brown, comedian Sasheer Zamata and musician Jon Batiste discover the unexpected places their ancestors once called home, providing new insight into the people and places that made them who they are today.
S6 E3 Length 52:41 Premiere: 1.7.20

Program Details

Finding Your Roots

About Finding Your Roots

For more than a decade, renowned Harvard scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr. has helped to expand America’s sense of itself, stimulating a national conversation about identity with humor, wisdom, and compassion. Professor Gates has explored the ancestry of dozens of influential people from diverse backgrounds, taking millions of viewers deep into the past to reveal the connections that bind us all.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

The Eye of the Beholder - S5 E9

Host Henry Louis Gates, Jr. shares the family histories of director Alejandro G. Inarritu, iconoclastic performance artist Marina Abramovic, and painter Kehinde Wiley. These visionary artists find their identities challenged - and affirmed.

  • Friday September 25, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 25, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2

All in the Family - S5 E10

Radio host Joe Madison receives startling family news, and series host Henry Louis Gates, Jr. learns his own DNA story. Also features the "Finding Your Roots: The Seedlings" STEM Camp, with science and history inspiring the next generation.

  • Friday October 2, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday October 2, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2

Hollywood Royalty - S6 E1

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. helps actors Isabella Rossellini, Anjelica Huston, and Mia Farrow unearth surprising new revelations about their family histories, taking them generations beyond their famous cinematic forebears.

  • Friday October 9, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday October 9, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2

Fashion's Roots - S6 E11

Meet the fashionable ancestors of Diane von Furstenberg, Narciso Rodriguez, and RuPaul Charles.

  • Tuesday October 13, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday October 13, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday October 15, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday October 15, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday October 16, 2020 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 16, 2020 1:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday October 16, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday October 16, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2

DNA Mysteries - S6 E12

DNA detective work solved mysteries in the families of actor Tea Leoni and radio host Joe Madison.

  • Tuesday October 20, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday October 20, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday October 22, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday October 22, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Hard Times - S5 E8

  • Friday September 18, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 18, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2

No Laughing Matter - S5 E7

  • Friday September 11, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 11, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2

Unfamiliar Kin - S4 E2

  • Friday August 28, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday August 28, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2

Freedom Tales - S5 E5

  • Friday August 21, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday August 21, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2
Top

Season 6

Criminal Kind

S6 E10 Length 52:16 Premiere Date 2.25.20

Italian Roots

S6 E9 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 2.18.20

Slave Trade

S6 E8 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 2.11.20

Science Pioneers

S6 E7 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 2.4.20

Secrets & Lies

S6 E6 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 1.28.20

Beyond the Pale

S6 E5 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 1.21.20

This Land Is My Land

S6 E4 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 1.14.20

Homecomings

S6 E3 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 1.7.20

Off the Farm

S6 E2 Length 52:36 Premiere Date 10.15.19

Hollywood Royalty

S6 E1 Length 52:41 Premiere Date 10.8.19

Explore KET