Skip to Main Content

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

The New World

Henry Louis Gates, Jr. traces ancestors of actor John Lithgow and journalist Maria Hinojosa who thrived in North America long before the birth of the United States.
Season 7 Episode 7 Length 52:11 Premiere: 04/13/21

Sponsored by:

FINDING YOUR ROOTS WITH HENRY LOUIS GATES, JR., Season Eight is a production of McGee Media, Inkwell Media, Kunhardt Films and WETA Washington, D.C. Corporate support for FINDING YOUR ROOTS WITH HENRY LOUIS GATES, JR., Season Eight is provided by Ancestry and Johnson & Johnson. Support is also provided by Ford Foundation, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Carnegie Corporation of New York, and by The Inkwell Society and its members Candace King Weir; Lloyd Carney Foundation; Jim and Susan Swartz; Sheryl Sandberg and Tom Bernthal; Anne Wojcicki; Hayward and Kathy Draper; and Nicole Commissiong and Darnell Armstrong. Major support is provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting.

A silhouette of men in suits with the Doo Wop, Pop and Soul Generations logoA silhouette of men in suits with the Doo Wop, Pop and Soul Generations logo

Program Details

Finding Your Roots

About Finding Your Roots

For more than a decade, renowned Harvard scholar Henry Louis Gates, Jr. has helped to expand America’s sense of itself, stimulating a national conversation about identity with humor, wisdom, and compassion. Professor Gates has explored the ancestry of dozens of influential people from diverse backgrounds, taking millions of viewers deep into the past to reveal the connections that bind us all.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Fashion's Roots

Premiered On: 10/13/2020

Meet the fashionable ancestors of Diane von Furstenberg, Narciso Rodriguez, and RuPaul Charles.

  • Tuesday August 23, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday August 23, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday August 26, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 26, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday August 26, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday August 26, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday August 28, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday August 27, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Criminal Kind

Premiered On: 02/25/2020

Actor Laura Linney and journalists Lisa Ling and Soledad O'Brien explore their roots with stories of tricksters, scoundrels and outright criminals, who nevertheless laid the groundwork for their success.

  • Tuesday August 30, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday August 30, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday September 1, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 1, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday September 2, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 2, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 2, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 2, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday September 4, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday September 3, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Slave Trade

Premiered On: 02/11/2020

Film director Ava DuVernay, actor S. Epatha Merkerson, and musician Questlove learn about the unexpected places where their ancestors were scattered by slavery, upending their notions of African American history.

  • Tuesday September 6, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 6, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday September 8, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 8, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday September 9, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 9, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 9, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 9, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday September 11, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday September 10, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Beyond the Pale

Premiered On: 01/21/2020

Jeff Goldblum, radio host Terry Gross, and comedian Marc Maron learn about their Jewish heritage, uncovering previously unknown stories that show how each share more with their ancestors than a religious tradition.

  • Thursday September 15, 2022 1:30 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 15, 2022 12:30 am CT on KET
  • Friday September 16, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 16, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 16, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday September 16, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

The Eye of the Beholder - S5 E9

  • Friday August 12, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday August 12, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday August 12, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 12, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday August 11, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday August 11, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday August 9, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday August 9, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

Italian Roots - S6 E9

  • Sunday August 7, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday August 6, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday August 5, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday August 5, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday August 5, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 5, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday August 4, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday August 4, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday August 2, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday August 2, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

Science Pioneers - S6 E7

  • Sunday July 31, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday July 30, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday July 29, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday July 29, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday July 29, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday July 29, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday July 28, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday July 28, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday July 26, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday July 26, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

Secrets & Lies - S6 E6

  • Sunday July 24, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday July 23, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday July 22, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday July 22, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday July 22, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday July 22, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday July 19, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday July 19, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

Grandparents and Other Strangers - S5 E1

  • Sunday July 17, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday July 16, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday July 15, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday July 15, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday July 15, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday July 15, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Season 7 Episodes

Laughing on the Inside

S7 E10 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 05/04/21

On Broadway

S7 E9 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 04/27/21

Anchored to the Past

S7 E8 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 04/20/21

The New World

S7 E7 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 04/13/21

Country Roots

S7 E6 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 02/23/21

Write My Name in the Book of Life

S7 E5 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 02/16/21

The Shirts on Their Backs

S7 E4 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 02/09/21

No Irish Need Apply

S7 E3 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 02/02/21

Against All Odds

S7 E2 Length 52:10 Premiere Date 01/26/21

To the Manor Born

S7 E1 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 01/19/21

Specials

Explore KET