Skip to Main Content

Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliet

Experience a ballet of Shakespeare’s classic from choreographer Kenneth MacMillan performed by dancers from The Royal Ballet set to a score by Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev filmed on atmospheric locations throughout Budapest.
S48 E1 Length 1:35:04 Premiere: 9.11.20

Program Details

Great Performances

About Great Performances

Great Performances brings the best in the performing arts from across America and around the world to a US television audience. It presents a diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Now Hear This: The Schubert Generation

Host Scott Yoo and young musicians celebrate the work of composer Franz Schubert.

  • Friday October 2, 2020 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 2, 2020 1:00 pm CT on KET

Now Hear This: Becoming Mozart

Travel with host Scott Yoo and pianist Stewart Goodyear as they visit Yoo's Festival Mozaic.

  • Friday October 2, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 2, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday October 4, 2020 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday October 3, 2020 11:30 pm CT on KET
  • Friday October 9, 2020 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 9, 2020 1:00 pm CT on KET

In the Heights: Chasing Broadway Dreams - S34 E9

Follows the cast and creative team of the Tony Award-winning In the Heights as they embark on the production of an original musical.

  • Sunday October 11, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Sunday October 11, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET

Orphee et Eurydice from Lyric Opera of Chicago - S43 E13

Reimagine Christoph Willibald Gluck's enduringly popular opera based on the famous Greek myth. From Lyric Opera of Chicago in collaboration with the Joffrey Ballet. Starring Dmitry Korchak, Andriana Chuchman, and Lauren Snouffer.

  • Sunday October 11, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Sunday October 11, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET

Grammy Salute to Music Legends

Enjoy a star-studded tribute celebration of the 2020 Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement recipients Chicago, Roberta Flack, Isaac Hayes, Iggy Pop, John Prine, Public Enemy, and Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

  • Friday October 16, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday October 16, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday October 18, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET
  • Saturday October 17, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET

She Loves Me - S41 E9

Enjoy Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick's classic 1963 musical of two feuding clerks in a Budapest parfumerie who don't realize they're romantic pen pals. Laura Benanti, Zachary Levi, Jane Krakowski, and Gavin Creel star.

  • Sunday October 18, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Sunday October 18, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET

Tony Bennett & Diana Krall: Love Is Here to Stay - S41 E11

Tony Bennett and Diana Krall celebrate the Great American Songbook duo George and Ira Gershwin, performing favorites such as "Love Is Here to Stay" and "They Can't Take That Away From Me."

  • Sunday October 25, 2020 2:30 am ET on KET
  • Sunday October 25, 2020 1:30 am CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Now Hear This: The Schubert Generation

  • Sunday September 27, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET
  • Saturday September 26, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 25, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 25, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

Doubt from Minnesota Opera - S41 E14

  • Sunday September 20, 2020 2:30 am ET on KET
  • Sunday September 20, 2020 1:30 am CT on KET

Now Hear This: Haydn: King of Strings

  • Friday September 25, 2020 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 25, 2020 1:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday September 20, 2020 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday September 19, 2020 11:30 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 18, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 18, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

Romeo and Juliet

  • Sunday September 13, 2020 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday September 12, 2020 11:30 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 11, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 11, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

Vienna Philharmonic Summer Night Concert 2019 - S44 E4

  • Friday September 4, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 4, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KET
  • Friday August 28, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 28, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

Rodgers & Hammerstein's The King and I - S44 E11

  • Friday August 28, 2020 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 28, 2020 11:00 am CT on KET
Top

Season 48

Now Hear This “The Schubert Generation”

S48 E3 Length 53:40 Premiere Date 9.25.20

Now Hear This “Haydn: King of Strings”

S48 E2 Length 53:37 Premiere Date 9.18.20

Romeo and Juliet

S48 E1 Length 1:35:04 Premiere Date 9.11.20

Explore KET