Skip to Main Content

Roots of Latin Jazz

Roots of Latin Jazz

Celebrate the rhythms of Latin music with the Raices Jazz Orchestra and performances by GRAMMY-winning artists including Richard Bona and Anaadi. Hosted by Sheila E. A co-presentation of Great Performances and Latino Public Broadcasting’s VOCES.
S48 E27 Length 53:25 Premiere: 7.16.21

Program Details

Great Performances

About Great Performances

Great Performances brings the best in the performing arts from across America and around the world to a US television audience. It presents a diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Andrea Bocelli: Believe

Enjoy the songs of the internationally beloved tenor's 2020 album recorded on location in Malta. Selections performed include "Gratia Plena," a duet with Cecilia Bartoli, and new interpretations of "Ave Maria" and Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah."

  • Friday August 20, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday August 20, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET2

Broadway: Beyond The Golden Age

Filmmaker Rick McKay's 2003 film "Broadway: The Golden Age" delighted theater fans with its astonishing Who's Who compilation of intimate interviews with Broadway stars from the 1940s and 50s. Long at work compiling a sequel to continue his insider's history of Broadway from 1959 until the early 1980s, McKay's untimely death in 2018 stopped completion of the film. But in great news for Broadway fans craving theater, a new team of producers stepped in and finished it.

  • Friday August 20, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 20, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET

Vienna Philharmonic Summer Night Concert 2021

Enjoy the Vienna Philharmonic's annual summer night concert at Austria's Schonbrunn Palace.

  • Friday August 27, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday August 27, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday August 29, 2021 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday August 28, 2021 11:30 pm CT on KET
  • Monday August 30, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday August 30, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday September 1, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday September 1, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET2

Yannick - An Artist's Journey

This documentary follows Maestro Newzet-Seeguin on his journey from young conductor to being named the third music director in Met history.

  • Friday September 3, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday September 3, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday September 5, 2021 12:00 am ET on KET
  • Saturday September 4, 2021 11:00 pm CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Roots of Latin Jazz

  • Wednesday July 21, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday July 21, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Monday July 19, 2021 10:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday July 19, 2021 9:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday July 18, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Sunday July 18, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday July 16, 2021 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday July 16, 2021 9:00 pm CT on KET

Gloria Estefan: Sangre Yoruba

  • Wednesday July 14, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday July 14, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET2
  • Monday July 12, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday July 12, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday July 11, 2021 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday July 10, 2021 11:30 pm CT on KET
  • Friday July 9, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday July 9, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Season 48 Episodes

Roots of Latin Jazz

S48 E27 Length 53:25 Premiere Date 7.16.21

Gloria Estefan: Sangre Yoruba

S48 E26 Length 1:22:50 Premiere Date 7.9.21

Mick Fleetwood & Friends

S48 E23 Length 1:33:09 Premiere Date 6.5.21

Andrea Bocelli: Believe

S48 E22 Length 1:02:21 Premiere Date 6.5.21

The Arts Interrupted

S48 E20 Length 52:55 Premiere Date 5.14.21

Uncle Vanya

S48 E18 Length 2:24:55 Premiere Date 5.7.21

Romeo & Juliet

S48 E17 Length 1:34:46 Premiere Date 4.23.21

Beethoven in Beijing

S48 E16 Length 1:23:37 Premiere Date 4.16.21

Movies for Grownups® Awards 2021 with AARP The Magazine

S48 E14 Length 53:50 Premiere Date 3.28.21

The Magic of Horowitz

S48 E12 Length 53:55 Premiere Date 1.22.21

The Magic of Callas

S48 E11 Length 54:40 Premiere Date 1.15.21

Lea Salonga in Concert

S48 E9 Length 55:25 Premiere Date 11.27.20

Fiddler: A Miracle of Miracles

S48 E7 Length 1:23:25 Premiere Date 11.13.20

GRAMMY Salute to Music Legends® 2020

S48 E5 Length 1:54:43 Premiere Date 10.16.20

Now Hear This “Becoming Mozart”

S48 E4 Length 54:05 Premiere Date 10.2.20

Now Hear This “The Schubert Generation”

S48 E3 Length 53:40 Premiere Date 9.25.20

Now Hear This “Haydn: King of Strings”

S48 E2 Length 53:37 Premiere Date 9.18.20

Romeo and Juliet

S48 E1 Length 1:35:04 Premiere Date 9.11.20

Anaadi Performs "Mas Que Nada"

Clip Length 05:01 Premiere Date 7.16.21

Roots of Latin Jazz Preview

Preview Length 00:31 Premiere Date 7.16.21

Sheila E. Jams with the Raíces Jazz Orchestra

Clip Length 00:46 Premiere Date 7.16.21

In Memoriam: Diahann Carroll

Clip Length 01:07 Premiere Date 10.4.19

Broadway's Best 2019

Preview Length 00:26 Premiere Date 11.1.19

Improvisations, Movement #3

Clip Length 04:26 Premiere Date 3.23.10

A Ballet in Sneakers: Jerome Robbins and Opus Jazz

Clip Length 09:48 Premiere Date 4.13.10

Interview with Patrick Stewart

Clip Length 03:16 Premiere Date 4.14.10

Harry Connick, Jr. About being on Great Performances

Clip Length 01:30 Premiere Date 2.24.11

Miami City Ballet Dances Balanchine and Tharp

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 10.27.11

Miami City Ballet's Edward Villella

Clip Length 06:47 Premiere Date 10.27.11

PBS Arts from New York: Andrea Bocelli Live in Central...

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12.2.11

Interview with The Sea Witch

Clip Length 03:14 Premiere Date 12.15.11

Explore KET