Skip to Main Content

The Big Payback

An Evanston, Illinois rookie alderwoman led the passage of the first tax-funded reparations bill for Black Americans. While she and her community struggle with the burden to make restitution for its citizens, a national racial crisis engulfs the country. Will the debt ever be addressed, or is it too late for a reparations movement to finally get the big payback?
Season 24 Episode 5 Length 1:25:13 Premiere: 01/16/23

Sponsored by:

Host Dr. Wayne Tuckson in a dark shirt and gray jacket on the program set with a "Check Schedule" button.Host Dr. Wayne Tuckson in a dark shirt and gray jacket on the program set with a "Check Schedule" button.

Season 24 Episodes

The Picture Taker

S24 E7 Length 1:25:44 Premiere Date 01/30/23

No Straight Lines

S24 E6 Length 1:25:44 Premiere Date 01/23/23

The Big Payback

S24 E5 Length 1:25:13 Premiere Date 01/16/23

Children of Las Brisas

S24 E4 Length 1:22:50 Premiere Date 01/02/23

Move Me

S24 E3 Length 1:22:17 Premiere Date 11/07/22

TikTok, Boom.

S24 E2 Length 1:24:57 Premiere Date 10/24/22

Hazing

S24 E1 Length 1:43:28 Premiere Date 09/12/22

Trailer | The Big Payback

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 01/30/23

Trailer | Hit the Road with Independent Lens!

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 07/15/20

Trailer | This Fall on Independent Lens

Preview Length 01:00 Premiere Date 09/12/22

Trailer | The Truth Is Scarier Than Fiction

Preview Length 00:48 Premiere Date 10/03/20

Trailer | Stream the Best Docs on the PBS Video App

Preview Length 01:00 Premiere Date 10/10/22

Trailer | This Winter on Independent Lens

Preview Length 01:00 Premiere Date 12/14/22

Women and Girls Lead: Meet Beverly

Clip Length 03:24 Premiere Date 03/01/12

Women and Girls Lead: Meet Sonia

Clip Length 03:09 Premiere Date 03/01/12

Women and Girls Lead: Melanne Verveer Web Exclusive

Clip Length 01:14 Premiere Date 03/01/12

Half the Sky: Desmond Tutu's Message About Manmade Customs

Clip Length 01:18 Premiere Date 03/01/12

Rose Mapendo Shares Her Story to Inspire Action

Clip Length 09:47 Premiere Date 03/22/12

Half the Sky: Jane Ngori Turns a House into a Home in Kenya

Clip Length 07:37 Premiere Date 09/30/12

Lois Vossen on Curation at Sundance

Clip Length 03:29 Premiere Date 01/24/13

See All Episodes

caret down

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

No Straight Lines

Five queer comic book artists journey from the underground comix scene to mainstream acceptance.

  • Saturday January 28, 2023 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 28, 2023 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 28, 2023 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 28, 2023 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday January 29, 2023 12:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 28, 2023 11:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Represent

Premiered On: 10/26/2020

Three women take on entrenched local political networks in their fight to reshape politics.

  • Monday January 30, 2023 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday January 30, 2023 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 31, 2023 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 31, 2023 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 31, 2023 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 31, 2023 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD

The Picture Taker

Meet Ernest Withers, iconic African American civil rights photographer - and FBI informant.

  • Monday January 30, 2023 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday January 30, 2023 9:00 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday February 1, 2023 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday February 1, 2023 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday February 1, 2023 7:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday February 1, 2023 6:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday February 2, 2023 12:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday February 1, 2023 11:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday February 2, 2023 8:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday February 2, 2023 7:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday February 4, 2023 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday February 4, 2023 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD

Outta the Muck

The people of Pahokee, Florida overcome tragic storms and personal trauma to celebrate family history and football.

  • Monday February 6, 2023 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday February 6, 2023 9:00 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday February 8, 2023 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday February 8, 2023 2:00 am CT on KET

Love in the Time of Fentanyl

As fentanyl overdose deaths in Vancouver, Canada reach an all-time high, the Overdose Prevention Society opens its doors - a renegade safe injection site that employs current or former drug users.

  • Monday February 13, 2023 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday February 13, 2023 9:00 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday February 15, 2023 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday February 15, 2023 2:00 am CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Try Harder! - S23 E13

  • Thursday January 26, 2023 3:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 26, 2023 2:30 pm CT on KETWORLD

No Straight Lines - S24 E6

  • Thursday January 26, 2023 9:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 26, 2023 8:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 26, 2023 1:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 26, 2023 12:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 25, 2023 8:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 25, 2023 7:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 25, 2023 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 25, 2023 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday January 23, 2023 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday January 23, 2023 9:00 pm CT on KET

Owned: A Tale of Two Americas - S23 E8

  • Thursday January 26, 2023 8:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 26, 2023 7:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 26, 2023 12:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 25, 2023 11:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 25, 2023 7:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 25, 2023 6:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

A Reckoning in Boston - S23 E6

  • Tuesday January 24, 2023 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 24, 2023 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 24, 2023 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 24, 2023 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Monday January 23, 2023 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday January 23, 2023 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

The Big Payback - S24 E5

  • Sunday January 22, 2023 12:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 21, 2023 11:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 21, 2023 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 21, 2023 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 21, 2023 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 21, 2023 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 19, 2023 9:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 19, 2023 8:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 19, 2023 1:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 19, 2023 12:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 18, 2023 8:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 18, 2023 7:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 18, 2023 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 18, 2023 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday January 16, 2023 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday January 16, 2023 9:00 pm CT on KET

Children of Las Brisas - S24 E4

  • Saturday January 7, 2023 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday January 7, 2023 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 5, 2023 8:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 5, 2023 7:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday January 5, 2023 12:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 11:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 7:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 6:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday January 2, 2023 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday January 2, 2023 9:00 pm CT on KET

A Woman's Work: The NFL's Cheerleader Problem - S22 E6

  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 2:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 1:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Duty Free - S23 E4

  • Tuesday January 3, 2023 4:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday January 3, 2023 3:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

A Day in the Life of America - S22 E7

  • Thursday December 29, 2022 3:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday December 29, 2022 2:30 pm CT on KETWORLD

Two Gods - S22 E15

  • Wednesday December 28, 2022 7:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday December 28, 2022 6:00 am CT on KETWORLD
Top

Explore KET