Skip to Main Content

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

Round One: The Greatest (1942-1964)

Boxer Cassius Clay rises up the amateur ranks to win gold at the 1960 Olympics. He turns professional, sharpening his boxing skills and honing his genius for self-promotion. In 1964, he upsets Sonny Liston to become heavyweight champion.
Season 1 Episode 1 Length 2:09:25 Premiere: 9.19.21

Brought to you by:

Corporate funding for MUHAMMAD ALI was provided by Bank of America. Major funding was provided by David M. Rubenstein. Major funding was also provided by The Arthur Vining Davis Foundations, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, and by The Better Angels Society and by its members Alan and Marcia Docter; Mr. and Mrs. Paul Tudor Jones; The Fullerton Family Charitable Fund; Gilchrist and Amy Berg; The Brooke Brown Barzun Philanthropic Foundation, The Owsley Brown III Philanthropic Foundation and The Augusta Brown Holland Philanthropic Foundation; Perry and Donna Golkin; John and Leslie McQuown; John and Catherine Debs; Fred and Donna Seigel; Susan and John Wieland; Stuart and Joanna Brown; Diane and Hal Brierley; Fiddlehead Fund; Rocco and Debby Landesman; McCloskey Family Charitable Trust; Mauree Jane and Mark Perry; and Donna and Richard Strong.

A promotional, staged image of three cats members from the series sitting on top of the world with clouds around them along with the series titles.A promotional, staged image of three cats members from the series sitting on top of the world with clouds around them along with the series titles.

Program Details

Muhammad Ali

About Muhammad Ali

This documentary by Ken Burns, Sarah Burns and David McMahon brings to life one of the most indelible figures of the 20th century, a three-time heavyweight boxing champion who captivated millions of fans across the world with his mesmerizing combination of speed, grace, and power in the ring, and charm and playful boasting outside of it. Ali insisted on being himself unconditionally and became a global icon and inspiration to people everywhere.

From

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Round One: The Greatest (1942-1964)

Premiered On: September 19, 2021

Boxer Cassius Clay rises in the amateur ranks to win gold at the 1960 Olympics. He turns professional, sharpening his boxing skills and honing his genius for self-promotion. In 1964, he upsets Sonny Liston to become heavyweight champion.

  • Sunday January 30, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET
  • Saturday January 29, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday January 30, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday January 30, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday February 1, 2022 11:30 am ET on KET
  • Tuesday February 1, 2022 10:30 am CT on KET
  • Thursday February 3, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday February 3, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2

Round Two: What's My Name? (1964-1970)

Premiered On: September 20, 2021

Cassius Clay publicly joins the Nation of Islam and takes the name Muhammad Ali. When he refuses induction into the Army, he is stripped of his title and forced into exile. After three years, he returns to the ring, but he's lost a step.

  • Friday February 4, 2022 9:30 pm ET on KET
  • Friday February 4, 2022 8:30 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday February 6, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET
  • Saturday February 5, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday February 6, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 6, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday February 8, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday February 8, 2022 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday February 10, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday February 10, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2

Round Three: The Rivalry (1970-1974)

Premiered On: September 21, 2021

Muhammad Ali battles rival Joe Frazier and the U.S. government as he attempts to regain the heavyweight title. He will have to beat George Foreman to become champion again.

  • Friday February 11, 2022 9:30 pm ET on KET
  • Friday February 11, 2022 8:30 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday February 13, 2022 12:00 am ET on KET
  • Saturday February 12, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday February 13, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 13, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday February 15, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday February 15, 2022 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday February 17, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday February 17, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2

Round Four: The Spell Remains (1974-2016)

Premiered On: September 22, 2021

Muhammad Ali shocks the world by defeating George Foreman, winning back the heavyweight title. After retiring in 1981, he travels the world spreading his Islamic faith, and becomes a symbol of peace and hope.

  • Friday February 18, 2022 9:30 pm ET on KET
  • Friday February 18, 2022 8:30 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday February 20, 2022 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday February 19, 2022 11:30 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday February 20, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 20, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday February 22, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday February 22, 2022 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday February 24, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday February 24, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Round One: The Greatest (1942-1964) - S1 E1

  • Friday January 28, 2022 9:30 pm ET on KET
  • Friday January 28, 2022 8:30 pm CT on KET
Top

Season 1 Episodes

Spanish Version | Round Four: The Spell Remains (1974-2016)

S1 E8 Length 1:39:49 Premiere Date 9.22.21

Spanish Version | Round Three: The Rivalry (1970 - 1974)

S1 E7 Length 1:50:20 Premiere Date 9.21.21

Spanish Version | Round Two: What's My Name? (1964-1970)

S1 E6 Length 1:54:43 Premiere Date 9.20.21

Spanish Version | Round One: The Greatest (1942-1964)

S1 E5 Length 2:09:25 Premiere Date 9.19.21

Round Four: The Spell Remains (1974-2016)

S1 E4 Length 1:39:49 Premiere Date 9.22.21

Round Three: The Rivalry (1970 - 1974)

S1 E3 Length 1:50:20 Premiere Date 9.21.21

Round Two: What's My Name? (1964-1970)

S1 E2 Length 1:54:43 Premiere Date 9.20.21

Round One: The Greatest (1942-1964)

S1 E1 Length 2:09:25 Premiere Date 9.19.21

Muhammad Ali - A Look Ahead

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 9.19.21

Behind the Scenes | Making Muhammad Ali

Clip Length 02:01 Premiere Date 9.19.21

Critics Agree on Muhammad Ali

Preview Length 00:31 Premiere Date 9.19.21

Specials

Ali, Activism & The Modern Athlete

Length 1:05:04 Premiere Date 9.17.21

Ali, Race & Religion

Length 1:04:57 Premiere Date 9.9.21

Ali On The World's Stage

Length 1:10:06 Premiere Date 7.19.21

Ali the Man

Length 1:04:43 Premiere Date 6.23.21

Explore KET