Skip to Main Content
Watch Interim Joint Committee Judiciary

StoryCorps Shorts: Man of Steel

StoryCorps Shorts: Man of Steel

To Ken Kobus, the steel mill was always a part of his life. His father, John Kobus, dedicated 40 years of his career as a steelmaker. Towards the end of John’s life, he spent it bedridden in hospice care, motioning and manipulating the air as if he was still making steel. At StoryCorps, Ken sits down with his friend Ron Barraf to honor John’s legacy.
Length 02:50 Premiere: 09/23/21

Sponsored by:

Major funding for POV is provided by PBS, The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, the Wyncote Foundation, Reva & David Logan Foundation, the Open Society Foundations and the National Endowment for the Arts. Additional funding comes from Nancy Blachman and David desJardins, Bertha Foundation, The Hollywood Foreign Press Association's Charitable Trust, Park Foundation, Sage Foundation, New York State Council on the Arts, public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, Chris and Nancy Plaut, Abby Pucker, Ann Tenenbaum and Thomas H. Lee and public television viewers. POV is presented by a consortium of public television stations, including KQED San Francisco, WGBH Boston and THIRTEEN in association with WNET.ORG.

Kentucky Edition host Renee Shaw in a green dress with the logo superimposed over the image along with a CHECK SCHEDULE button.Kentucky Edition host Renee Shaw in a green dress with the set behind her and the logo superimposed over the image along with a CHECK SCHEDULE button.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Farmsteaders

Premiered On: 09/02/2019

The film follows Nick Nolan and his young family on a journey to resurrect his late grandfather's dairy farm as agriculture moves toward large-scale farming.

  • Saturday August 20, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 20, 2022 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD

Portraits and Dreams

Premiered On: 09/07/2020

Former Kentucky students reflect on visionary photos they made in the 1970s, and revisit the places where the photos were taken in this Appalshop film. They reflect on their present lives and the passage of time.

  • Saturday August 20, 2022 1:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 20, 2022 12:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

The Calling

A Muslim hospital chaplain honors his Southern heritage and fights white supremacy in "Redneck Muslim." Three London neighbors share their devotion to Islam, Christianity and football in "The Masses."

  • Saturday August 20, 2022 9:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 20, 2022 8:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday August 21, 2022 1:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday August 21, 2022 12:30 am CT on KETWORLD

On Caregiving and Grace

Stories of courageous empathy in the face of loss are shared.

  • Wednesday August 24, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 24, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 12:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 24, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 8:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 7:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 27, 2022 1:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 27, 2022 12:30 pm CT on KETWORLD

Through the Night

Premiered On: 05/10/2021

The lives of two working mothers and a childcare provider intersect at a 24-hour daycare center in New Rochelle, New York.

  • Wednesday August 24, 2022 7:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 24, 2022 6:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 12:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 24, 2022 11:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 8:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 25, 2022 7:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 27, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 27, 2022 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD

Faya Dayi

Enter the world of Harar, Ethiopia where a euphoria-inducing plant holds sway over everyday life.

  • Monday August 29, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday August 29, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday August 31, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday August 31, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET

Love & Stuff

Experience Judith's multigenerational love story. As a daughter caring for her terminally ill mother and an "old-new mom" adopting a baby in her 50s.

  • Monday September 5, 2022 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday September 5, 2022 9:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday September 9, 2022 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Friday September 9, 2022 3:00 am CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Portraits and Dreams - S33 E7

  • Thursday August 18, 2022 10:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 18, 2022 9:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 18, 2022 2:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 18, 2022 1:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 17, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 17, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Farmsteaders - S32 E9

  • Thursday August 18, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 18, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 18, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 18, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 17, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 17, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Le Frere - S4 E6

  • Sunday August 14, 2022 3:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday August 14, 2022 2:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 13, 2022 11:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 13, 2022 10:30 pm CT on KETWORLD

Two Towns of Jasper - S15 E12

  • Sunday August 14, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday August 14, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 13, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 13, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

President - S35 E5

  • Saturday August 13, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 13, 2022 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 11, 2022 8:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 11, 2022 7:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 11, 2022 12:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 10, 2022 11:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 10, 2022 7:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 10, 2022 6:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 10, 2022 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday August 10, 2022 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday August 8, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday August 8, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KET

He's My Brother - S35 E4

  • Saturday August 6, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday August 6, 2022 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 4, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 4, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 4, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday August 4, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 3, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 3, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday August 3, 2022 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday August 3, 2022 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday August 1, 2022 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday August 1, 2022 9:00 pm CT on KET

Hindsight Is 20/20 - S1 E2

  • Friday July 29, 2022 2:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 29, 2022 1:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 29, 2022 11:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 29, 2022 10:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 29, 2022 5:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 29, 2022 4:00 am CT on KETWORLD

Winter's Yearning - S35 E3

  • Saturday July 30, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday July 30, 2022 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 28, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 28, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 28, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 28, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 27, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 27, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 27, 2022 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday July 27, 2022 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday July 25, 2022 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday July 25, 2022 9:00 pm CT on KET

Dark Money - S31 E14

  • Sunday July 31, 2022 4:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday July 31, 2022 3:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday July 26, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday July 26, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday July 26, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday July 26, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Monday July 25, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday July 25, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

The Spectrum of Divide - S3 E2

  • Sunday July 24, 2022 6:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday July 24, 2022 5:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday July 24, 2022 10:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday July 24, 2022 9:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday July 24, 2022 3:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday July 24, 2022 2:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday July 23, 2022 11:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday July 23, 2022 10:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 22, 2022 4:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 22, 2022 3:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 22, 2022 9:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 22, 2022 8:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 22, 2022 1:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday July 22, 2022 12:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 9:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 8:30 pm CT on KETWORLD

Manzanar, Diverted: When Water Becomes Dust - S35 E2

  • Saturday July 23, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday July 23, 2022 11:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 10:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 9:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 2:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 1:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 20, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 20, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 20, 2022 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday July 20, 2022 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday July 18, 2022 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday July 18, 2022 9:00 pm CT on KET

Stateless - S34 E3

  • Thursday July 21, 2022 8:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 7:30 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Thursday July 21, 2022 12:30 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 20, 2022 11:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 20, 2022 7:30 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Wednesday July 20, 2022 6:30 pm CT on KETWORLD
Top

Season Episodes

Who Killed Vincent Chin?

S35 E201 Length 1:23:55 Premiere Date 07/16/89

President

S35 E5 Length 1:52:50 Premiere Date 08/08/22

He's My Brother

S35 E4 Length 52:15 Premiere Date 08/01/22

Winter's Yearning

S35 E3 Length 52:46 Premiere Date 07/25/22

Manzanar, Diverted: When Water Becomes Dust

S35 E2 Length 54:32 Premiere Date 05/10/22

Wuhan Wuhan

S35 E1 Length 1:24:25 Premiere Date 07/11/22

Specials

StoryCorps Shorts: Miss Betty's Calling

Length 03:02 Premiere Date 06/16/22

StoryCorps Shorts: Meet the Greenbergs

Length 02:36 Premiere Date 05/05/22

StoryCorps Shorts: Joyce's Neighborhood

Length 02:59 Premiere Date 04/28/22

StoryCorps Shorts: Lessons from Lourdes

Length 02:42 Premiere Date 04/21/22

Team Meryland

Length 25:16 Premiere Date 01/24/22

StoryCorps Shorts: The Rent We Pay

Length 02:39 Premiere Date 12/30/21

Integrate.Me

Length 09:54 Premiere Date 12/13/21

Elaine is Almost

Length 13:01 Premiere Date 12/13/21

The Hairdresser

Length 12:49 Premiere Date 12/06/21

Águilas

Length 13:42 Premiere Date 12/06/21

I'm Free Now, You Are Free

Length 14:55 Premiere Date 11/29/21

Seahorse

Length 14:11 Premiere Date 11/29/21

Al Futuro, con Amor

Length 06:58 Premiere Date 11/22/21

To The Future, with Love

Length 06:58 Premiere Date 11/22/21

Share

Length 12:36 Premiere Date 10/25/21

Bug Farm

Length 13:13 Premiere Date 10/04/21

StoryCorps Shorts: A Piece of Home

Length 02:42 Premiere Date 09/30/21

StoryCorps Shorts: Man of Steel

Length 02:50 Premiere Date 09/23/21

StoryCorps Shorts: A Life of Honor

Length 02:34 Premiere Date 09/16/21

A Broken House

Length 20:02 Premiere Date 09/06/21

Joychild

Length 05:35 Premiere Date 09/06/21

StoryCorps Shorts: September 12

Length 03:03 Premiere Date 09/01/21

StoryCorps Shorts: Father Mychal's Blessing

Length 04:32 Premiere Date 09/01/21

StoryCorps: The Little Things

Length 01:48 Premiere Date 05/27/21

StoryCorps Shorts: Hand in Hand

Length 03:27 Premiere Date 05/20/21

StoryCorps Shorts: Star Bound

Length 02:45 Premiere Date 05/13/21

Standing Above the Clouds

Length 14:46 Premiere Date 05/10/21

StoryCorps Shorts: Lola's Work

Length 02:57 Premiere Date 05/06/21

StoryCorps Shorts: At First Glance

Length 02:31 Premiere Date 02/11/21

StoryCorps Shorts: Leonardo's Dreams

Length 03:30 Premiere Date 02/04/21

StoryCorps Shorts: With Love, From Georgia

Length 03:00 Premiere Date 01/28/21

Another Hayride

Length 17:45 Premiere Date 01/16/21

Sing Me a Lullaby

Length 28:52 Premiere Date 01/11/21

StoryCorps Shorts: Alone Together

Length 02:55 Premiere Date 12/29/20

Tungrus

Length 12:27 Premiere Date 11/23/20

Tungrus

Length 12:27 Premiere Date 11/23/20

Traffic Separating Device

Length 12:52 Premiere Date 11/23/20

Traffic Separating Device

Length 12:52 Premiere Date 11/23/20

All Cats Are Grey in the Dark

Length 14:51 Premiere Date 11/16/20

Kachalka

Length 09:31 Premiere Date 11/16/20

Natour's Grocery

Length 22:20 Premiere Date 10/19/20

StoryCorps Shorts: Learning to Fly

Length 03:38 Premiere Date 09/28/20

StoryCorps Shorts: Where I Come From

Length 03:08 Premiere Date 09/21/20

StoryCorps Shorts: The View From Here

Length 02:41 Premiere Date 09/07/20

La Lectora

Length 07:52 Premiere Date 07/20/20

True Love in Pueblo Textil

Length 05:07 Premiere Date 07/20/20

When I Write It

Length 13:42 Premiere Date 07/20/20

StoryCorps Shorts: My Aunties

Length 02:33 Premiere Date 06/15/20

StoryCorps Shorts: Double Major

Length 02:31 Premiere Date 04/07/20

StoryCorps Shorts: A Wonderful Life

Length 03:44 Premiere Date 04/06/20

StoryCorps Shorts: Leading the Way

Length 02:43 Premiere Date 03/30/20

¡Chaporazzi!

Length 14:15 Premiere Date 01/27/20

Clash

Length 08:01 Premiere Date 01/20/20

Muxes

Length 09:44 Premiere Date 01/20/20

Crisanto Street

Length 12:05 Premiere Date 01/13/20

Edgecombe

Length 13:42 Premiere Date 01/13/20

The Velvet Underground Played At My High School

Length 07:50 Premiere Date 10/23/19

Stay Close

Length 19:28 Premiere Date 10/02/19

StoryCorps Shorts: You're My Line

Length 02:17 Premiere Date 09/24/19

StoryCorps Shorts: Driving Lessons

Length 02:40 Premiere Date 08/20/19

StoryCorps Shorts: A Mother's Promise

Length 02:54 Premiere Date 08/15/19

StoryCorps Shorts: The Drill

Length 02:46 Premiere Date 07/31/19

StoryCorps Shorts: The Golden Rule

Length 02:41 Premiere Date 07/31/19

Reluctantly Queer

Length 08:44 Premiere Date 07/22/19

StoryCorps Shorts: A Life Worth Living

Length 02:41 Premiere Date 05/22/19

StoryCorps Shorts: The Door She Opened

Length 02:41 Premiere Date 05/21/19

StoryCorps Shorts: A Life, Complete

Length 02:20 Premiere Date 01/30/19

StoryCorps Shorts: Two by Two

Length 02:46 Premiere Date 01/24/19

StoryCorps Shorts: Common Ground

Length 02:03 Premiere Date 10/18/18

StoryCorps Shorts: A Second Chance

Length 02:50 Premiere Date 10/18/18

StoryCorps Shorts: Family Politics

Length 03:14 Premiere Date 10/18/18

A Night At The Garden

Length 07:35 Premiere Date 10/01/18

Balloonfest

Length 07:02 Premiere Date 10/01/18

Give

Length 17:05 Premiere Date 09/28/18

Into My Life

Length 09:02 Premiere Date 09/28/18

Public Money

Length 15:02 Premiere Date 09/27/18

A Debtor's Prison

Length 10:36 Premiere Date 09/27/18

StoryCorps Shorts: Lessons Learned

Length 03:09 Premiere Date 05/03/18

Graven Image

Length 11:14 Premiere Date 04/26/18

StoryCorps Shorts: The Bookmobile

Length 03:21 Premiere Date 04/12/16

StoryCorps Shorts: Clean Streets

Length 02:47 Premiere Date 09/18/15

StoryCorps Shorts: A More Perfect Union

Length 02:51 Premiere Date 06/29/15

20/Nothing

Length 05:55 Premiere Date 10/12/14

Irma

Length 12:20 Premiere Date 04/07/14

Good Soil

Length 08:26 Premiere Date 03/11/14

StoryCorps Shorts: John and Joe

Length 03:58 Premiere Date 09/07/11

If a Tree Falls: Q&A at Sundance

Length 03:59 Premiere Date 02/03/11

StoryCorps Shorts

Length 1:17:27 Premiere Date 05/06/10

Behind the Lens - The Way We Get By

Length 00:28 Premiere Date 11/10/09

Explore KET