Skip to Main Content

Episode 2

Episode 2

Episode 2

Discover how the Black church expanded its reach to address social inequality and minister to those in need, from the Jim Crow South to the heroic phase of the civil rights movement and the Black church’s role in the present.
S1 E2 Length 1:49:49 Premiere: 2.16.21

Program Details

The Black Church

About The Black Church

An intimate four-hour series from Henry Louis Gates, Jr., The Black Church: This Is Our Story, This Is Our Song will explore the 400-year-old story of the black church in America, the changing nature of worship spaces, and the men and women who shepherded them from the pulpit, the choir loft, and church pews.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Part 2

Discover how the Black Church expanded its reach to address social inequality and help the needy, from the Jim Crow South to the civil rights movement to the present day.

  • Sunday March 7, 2021 2:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday March 7, 2021 1:00 pm CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Part 2

  • Wednesday February 24, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday February 24, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET2
  • Monday February 22, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday February 22, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday February 19, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday February 19, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday February 19, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Friday February 19, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday February 17, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday February 17, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET

Part 1 - S1 E1

  • Sunday February 28, 2021 2:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 28, 2021 1:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday February 19, 2021 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday February 19, 2021 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Thursday February 18, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Thursday February 18, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Thursday February 18, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Thursday February 18, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday February 18, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday February 18, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday February 16, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday February 16, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Season 1 The Black Church: This Is Our Story, This Is Our Song Episodes

Episode 2

S1 E2 Length 1:49:49 Premiere Date 2.16.21

Episode 1

S1 E1 Length 1:50:09 Premiere Date 2.8.21

Trailer

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 2.16.21

Extended Trailer

Preview Length 03:19 Premiere Date 2.16.21

Gospel Trailer

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 2.16.21

Inside Look

Preview Length 02:00 Premiere Date 2.16.21

First Black Run Institutions

Clip Length 02:14 Premiere Date 2.5.21

Fisk Minstrel Show

Clip Length 01:36 Premiere Date 2.5.21

The History Of Black Religion in America

Clip Length 00:58 Premiere Date 2.11.21

The Rebuilding of the Emanuel A.M.E Church

Clip Length 00:49 Premiere Date 2.12.21

HBCUs Did the Work of God Through Education

Clip Length 00:49 Premiere Date 2.12.21

Al Sharpton Speaks on the Importance of the Black Church

Clip Length 00:38 Premiere Date 2.13.21

The Black Church Resists the Changing Culture

Clip Length 01:11 Premiere Date 2.13.21

The Popularity of Religious Race Records

Clip Length 01:05 Premiere Date 2.14.21

Specials

Cornerstones | The Reader

Length 02:20 Premiere Date 2.9.21

Cornerstones | The Servant

Length 02:37 Premiere Date 2.9.21

Cornerstones | The Hymnist

Length 02:40 Premiere Date 2.9.21

Explore KET