Skip to Main Content

The National Parks: America's Best Idea

Program Details

The National Parks: America's Best Idea

About The National Parks: America's Best Idea

The series, directed by Ken Burns and co-produced with his longtime colleague, Dayton Duncan, who also wrote the script, is the story of an idea as uniquely American as the Declaration of Independence and just as radical: that the most special places in the nation should be preserved for everyone.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Going Home (1920-1933) - S1 E4

As America embraces the automobile, a Nebraska housewife searches for peace and inspiration in park after park, while a honeymooning couple seeks fame and adventure in the Grand Canyon; and the future of the Great Smoky Mountains becomes caught in a race with the lumbermen's saws.

  • Sunday July 5, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday July 5, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday July 7, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Monday July 6, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Great Nature (1933-1945) - S1 E5

In the midst of an economic catastrophe and then a world war, the national parks provide a source of much-needed jobs and then much-needed peace; the park idea changes to include new places and new ways of thinking; and in Wyoming, battle lines are drawn along the front of the Teton Range.

  • Sunday July 12, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday July 12, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday July 14, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Monday July 13, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2

The Morning of Creation (1946-1980) - S1 E6

A stubborn iconoclast fights a lonely battle on behalf of a species nearly everyone hates; America's "Last Frontier" becomes a testing ground for the future of the park idea; and in unprecedented numbers, American families create unforgettable memories, passing on a love of the parks to the next generation.

  • Sunday July 19, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday July 19, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday July 21, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Monday July 20, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2

The Scripture of Nature (1851-1890) - S1 E1

The astonishing beauty of Yosemite Valley and the geyser wonderland of Yellowstone give birth to the radical idea of creating national parks for the enjoyment of everyone; John Muir becomes their eloquent defender.

  • Monday July 20, 2020 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday July 20, 2020 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday July 24, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Friday July 24, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET

The Last Refuge (1890-1915) - S1 E2

A young president, Theodore Roosevelt, becomes one of the national parks' greatest champions; in Yellowstone, a magnificent species is rescued from extinction; and in Yosemite, John Muir fights the battle of his life to save a beautiful valley.

  • Monday July 27, 2020 12:30 pm ET on KET
  • Monday July 27, 2020 11:30 am CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

The Empire of Grandeur (1915-1919) - S1 E3

  • Tuesday June 30, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Monday June 29, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday June 28, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 28, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday June 26, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday June 26, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET2

The Last Refuge (1890-1915) - S1 E2

  • Sunday June 21, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 21, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday June 19, 2020 1:30 am ET on KET2
  • Friday June 19, 2020 12:30 am CT on KET2

The Scripture of Nature (1851-1890) - S1 E1

  • Sunday June 14, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 14, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday June 12, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday June 12, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET2
Top

Explore KET