Skip to Main Content

The War Refugee Board & Hungary

In 1944, President Roosevelt established the War Refugee Board – the only government agency created by any of the Allies specifically to do what it could for the Jews still under Nazi threat. Much of the Board’s most effective work was focused on Hungary with the help of fellow diplomats from neutral nations. It was still home to some 800,000 Jews, the largest remaining population in Europe.
Clip Season 1 Episode 3 Length 05:59 Premiere: 09/21/22

Sponsored by:

The words, "YOUNG WRITERS CONTEST" on a variegated colorful background along with a LEARN MORE button.The words, "YOUNG WRITERS CONTEST" on a variegated colorful background along with a LEARN MORE button.

Season 1 Episodes

En Español: "Los Destituidos, Abrumados por Adversidades”

S1 E6 Length 2:10:51 Premiere Date 09/21/22

En Español: “Anhelando Poder Respirar en Libertad”

S1 E5 Length 2:17:35 Premiere Date 09/20/22

En Español: “La Puerta de Oro”

S1 E4 Length 2:08:43 Premiere Date 09/18/22

“The Homeless, Tempest-Tossed” (1942 - )

S1 E3 Length 2:10:51 Premiere Date 09/21/22

“Yearning to Breathe Free” (1938-1942)

S1 E2 Length 2:17:35 Premiere Date 09/20/22

“The Golden Door” (Beginnings-1938)

S1 E1 Length 2:08:43 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Not Every Jew Died in a Concentration Camp

Clip Length 03:49 Premiere Date 09/21/22

The War Refugee Board & Hungary

Clip Length 05:59 Premiere Date 09/21/22

Life in Auschwitz

Clip Length 05:22 Premiere Date 09/21/22

Teaser #1 'American as Apple Pie'

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Teaser #2 'We are Challenged'

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Teaser #3 'Our Neighbors'

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Official Trailer #1

Preview Length 00:31 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Official Trailer #2

Preview Length 00:31 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Faces from the Past

Preview Length 00:26 Premiere Date 07/22/22

Teaser #4 'Carefree Life'

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Filmmaker featurette - Sarah Botstein

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Filmmaker featurette - Lynn Novick

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 09/18/22

Extended Trailer

Preview Length 01:01 Premiere Date 09/18/22

See All Episodes

caret down

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

The Golden Door (Beginnings - 1938)

Reversing a history of open borders, a xenophobic backlash prompts Congress to restrict immigration. Hitler and the Nazis persecute German Jews, forcing many to seek refuge. FDR is concerned by the growing crisis but unable to coordinate a response.

  • Wednesday October 5, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday October 5, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET2

Yearning to Breathe Free (1938 - 1942)

As World War II begins, Americans are divided over whether to intervene against Nazi Germany. Some individuals and organizations work tirelessly to help refugees escape. Germany invades the USSR and secretly begins the mass murder of European Jews.

  • Sunday October 9, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday October 9, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday October 12, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday October 12, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET2

The Homeless, The Tempest-Tossed (1942 - )

A group of dedicated government officials fights red tape to support rescue operations. As the Allies liberate German camps, the public sees for the first time the sheer scale of the Holocaust and begins to reckon with its reverberations.

  • Sunday October 16, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday October 16, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday October 19, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday October 19, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

The Golden Door (Beginnings - 1938) - S1 E1

  • Sunday October 2, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday October 2, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Monday September 26, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 26, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 26, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Monday September 26, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 25, 2022 9:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Sunday September 25, 2022 8:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Tuesday September 20, 2022 2:37 am ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 20, 2022 1:37 am CT on KET
  • Monday September 19, 2022 9:30 pm ET on KET
  • Monday September 19, 2022 8:30 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday September 18, 2022 10:15 pm ET on KET
  • Sunday September 18, 2022 9:15 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday September 18, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Sunday September 18, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

The Homeless, The Tempest-Tossed (1942 - ) - S1 E3

  • Thursday September 22, 2022 2:30 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 22, 2022 1:30 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday September 21, 2022 10:15 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday September 21, 2022 9:15 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday September 21, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday September 21, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET

Yearning to Breathe Free (1938 - 1942) - S1 E2

  • Wednesday September 21, 2022 2:23 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday September 21, 2022 1:23 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday September 20, 2022 10:30 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 20, 2022 9:30 pm CT on KET
  • Tuesday September 20, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 20, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Explore KET