Skip to Main Content

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

Things Fall Apart (January 1968-July 1968)

On the eve of the Tet holiday, North Vietnamese and Viet Cong forces launch surprise attacks on cities and military bases throughout the south, suffering devastating losses but casting grave doubt on Johnson’s promise that there is “light at the end of the tunnel.” The president decides not to run again and the country is staggered by assassinations and unrest.
Season 1 Episode 6 Length 1:28:13 Premiere: 9/24/17

Brought to you by:

Funding for The Vietnam War is provided by Bank of America; Corporation for Public Broadcasting; PBS; David H. Koch; The Blavatnik Family Foundation; Park Foundation; The Arthur Vining Davis Foundations; The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation; National Endowment for the Humanities; The Pew Charitable Trusts; Ford Foundation Just Films; Rockefeller Brothers Fund; and Members of The Better Angels Society: Jonathan & Jeannie Lavine, Diane & Hal Brierley, Amy & David Abrams, John & Catherine Debs, Fullerton Family Charitable Fund, The Montrone Family, Lynda & Stewart Resnick, The Golkin Family Foundation, The Lynch Foundation, The Roger & Rosemary Enrico Foundation, Richard S. & Donna L. Strong Foundation, Bonnie & Tom McCloskey, Barbara K. & Cyrus B. Sweet III, The Lavender Butterfly Fund

Comment on Kentucky logo and a "Check Schedule" button.A close-up of Comment on Kentucky host Bill Bryant smiling in a dark suit and purple tie against an image of Kentucky's capitol building. with a "Check Schedule" button.

Program Details

The Vietnam War

About The Vietnam War

The Vietnam War is a ten-part, 18-hour documentary film series directed by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick. In an immersive 360-degree narrative, Burns and Novick tell the epic story of the Vietnam War as it has never before been told on film. The Vietnam War features testimony from nearly 100 witnesses.


TV Schedules


No upcoming airdates


No recent airdates

Season 1 The Vietnam War | Broadcast Version Episodes

The Weight of Memory (March 1973-Onward)

S1 E10 Length 1:51:22 Premiere Date 9/28/17

A Disrespectful Loyalty (May 1970-March 1973)

S1 E9 Length 1:52:58 Premiere Date 9/27/17

The History of the World (April 1969-May 1970)

S1 E8 Length 1:52:35 Premiere Date 9/26/17

The Veneer of Civilization (June 1968-May 1969)

S1 E7 Length 1:51:20 Premiere Date 9/25/17

Things Fall Apart (January 1968-July 1968)

S1 E6 Length 1:28:13 Premiere Date 9/24/17

This Is What We Do (July 1967-December 1967)

S1 E5 Length 1:28:43 Premiere Date 9/21/17

Resolve (January 1966-June 1967)

S1 E4 Length 1:57:51 Premiere Date 9/20/17

The River Styx (January 1964-December 1965)

S1 E3 Length 1:58:22 Premiere Date 9/19/17

Riding the Tiger (1961-1963)

S1 E2 Length 1:26:53 Premiere Date 9/18/17

Déjà Vu (1858-1961)

S1 E1 Length 1:25:46 Premiere Date 9/17/17

Episode Six | Preview

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 9/21/17

LBJ Criticizes the Media

Clip Length 01:25 Premiere Date 8/25/17

Saigon During Tet

Clip Length 00:46 Premiere Date 8/25/17

Living is the Difficult Thing

Clip Length 02:10 Premiere Date 8/28/17

A Mother's Worry | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16

Expanding the Draft | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16

Save Us | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16

Social Change Was Coming | First Look

Clip Length 00:20 Premiere Date 12/5/16

Cowards or Heroes? | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16

Everybody's Special | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16

The Fear Went Away | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16

Profound Sense of Humanity | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16

At Great Cost | First Look

Clip Length 00:30 Premiere Date 12/5/16


PBS Previews: The Vietnam War

Length 25:22 Premiere Date 5/28/17

Explore KET