Skip to Main Content

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

When Things Get Tough

Americans mobilize for total war at home and overseas. Factories hum around the clock, while North Africa and then Italy, inexperienced GIs learn how to fight. Meanwhile, in the skies over Europe, thousands of American airmen gamble their lives against preposterous odds on daylight bombing missions.
Season 1 Episode 2 Length 1:57:14 Premiere: 8/1/12

Sponsored by:

Corporate funding is provided by General Motors, Anheuser-Busch, and Bank of America. Major funding is provided by Lilly Endowment, Inc.;PBS; National Endowment for the Humanities; CPB; The Arthur Vining Davis Foundations; The Pew Charitable Trusts; The Longaberger Foundation; and Park Foundation, Inc.

Comment on Kentucky logo and a "Check Schedule" button.A close-up of Comment on Kentucky host Bill Bryant smiling in a dark suit and purple tie against an image of Kentucky's capitol building. with a "Check Schedule" button.

Program Details

The War

About The War

The War is the story of the Second World War through the personal accounts of a handful of men and women from four American towns. The war touched the lives of every family on every street in every town in America and demonstrated that in extraordinary times, there are no ordinary lives.

From

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

The Ghost Front

Premiered On: 10/01/2007

By December 1944, Americans have become weary of the war. Progress is slow in the Pacific, and the troops in Europe endure the Battle of the Bulge during the depths of a terrible winter. But then Allied leaders meet at Yalta to devise a plan to end the war, and their forces secure Iwo Jima and begin a full-fledged air assault on Japan. By mid-March 1945, hundreds of thousands of Americans have crossed the Rhine, the Russians are within 50 miles of Berlin, and the end of the war in Europe seems imminent. Viewer discretion advised.

  • Sunday June 26, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 26, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday June 29, 2022 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday June 29, 2022 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday June 30, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday June 30, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2

A World Without War

Premiered On: 10/02/2007

In spring 1945, the battle for the island of Okinawa rages on in the mid-Pacific. President Roosevelt dies and Harry Truman becomes president. American and British troops discover the horrors of the concentration camps, and the Nazis surrender on May 8. In August, Americans drop atomic bombs on the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Russia declares war on Japan, and finally the rulers of Japan decide to give up. Viewer discretion advised.

  • Sunday July 3, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday July 3, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday July 6, 2022 3:58 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday July 6, 2022 2:58 am CT on KET
  • Thursday July 7, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday July 7, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

FUBAR - S1 E5

  • Thursday June 23, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday June 23, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday June 22, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday June 22, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET
  • Sunday June 19, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 19, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2

Pride of Our Nation - S1 E4

  • Thursday June 16, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday June 16, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday June 15, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday June 15, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET
  • Sunday June 12, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 12, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2

A Deadly Calling - S1 E3

  • Thursday June 9, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday June 9, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday June 8, 2022 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday June 8, 2022 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Sunday June 5, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 5, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2

When Things Get Tough - S1 E2

  • Thursday June 2, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday June 2, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday June 1, 2022 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday June 1, 2022 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Sunday May 29, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 29, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KET2

A Necessary War - S1 E1

  • Thursday May 26, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday May 26, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday May 25, 2022 3:30 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday May 25, 2022 2:30 am CT on KET
Top

Season 1 Episodes

A World Without War

S1 E7 Length 2:07:27 Premiere Date 8/8/12

The Ghost Front

S1 E6 Length 1:59:26 Premiere Date 8/7/12

FUBAR

S1 E5 Length 2:06:58 Premiere Date 8/6/12

Pride of our Nation

S1 E4 Length 2:19:15 Premiere Date 8/5/12

A Deadly Calling

S1 E3 Length 1:52:42 Premiere Date 8/2/12

When Things Get Tough

S1 E2 Length 1:57:14 Premiere Date 8/1/12

A Necessary War

S1 E1 Length 2:24:51 Premiere Date 9/22/07

Explore KET