Breakthrough: The Ideas That Changed the World

Take a mind-blowing journey through human history, told through six iconic objects that modern people take for granted, and see how science, invention, and technology built on one another to change everything.

Recent Episodes

The Airplane | Monday, April 29 at 5:00 AM ET / Monday, April 29 at 4:00 AM CT

The Robot | Monday, May 6 at 5:00 AM ET / Monday, May 6 at 4:00 AM CT

The Car | Monday, May 13 at 5:00 AM ET / Monday, May 13 at 4:00 AM CT

The Rocket | Monday, May 20 at 5:00 AM ET / Monday, May 20 at 4:00 AM CT

Show all past Breakthrough: The Ideas That Changed the World episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

The Smartphone

56:46 | #106 | TV-PG

  • KET: Wednesday, May 22 at 10:00 PM ET / Wednesday, May 22 at 9:00 PM CT
  • KET2: Thursday, May 23 at 2:00 AM ET / Thursday, May 23 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Thursday, May 23 at 9:00 PM ET / Thursday, May 23 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KET2: Friday, May 24 at 3:00 AM ET / Friday, May 24 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Sunday, May 26 at 3:00 AM ET / Sunday, May 26 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KET: Monday, May 27 at 2:00 AM ET / Monday, May 27 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Monday, May 27 at 5:00 AM ET / Monday, May 27 at 4:00 AM CT