Chair Caning and Storytelling

Two Eastern Kentuckians demonstrate the ancient skill of Appalachian chair caning, from finding a suitable hickory tree in the woods through felling it, stripping the bark, and weaving the traditional patterns used in caning a chair seat. The documentary is enhanced by the stories the men tell as they work, and by the inclusion of some of the history of this ancient art, which dates back at least to early Egypt, and may have sprung from skills developed 70,000 years ago or more.

Recent Episodes

Chair Caning and Storytelling | Sunday, December 9 at 9:30 AM ET / Sunday, December 9 at 8:30 AM CT

Show all past Chair Caning and Storytelling episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Chair Caning and Storytelling

28:30 | #0

  • KETKY: Wednesday, December 19 at 4:30 PM ET / Wednesday, December 19 at 3:30 PM CT