Living the Story: The Civil Rights Movement in Kentucky

Living the Story: The Civil Rights Movement in Kentucky

In 1998, the Kentucky Oral History Commission began a multi-year project to document the civil rights movement in Kentucky from 1930 to 1975 through oral history interviews. Based on those interviews, this documentary explores Kentucky's civil rights history and presents the personal experiences of men and women who recall life in a segregated society and the struggle to bring about social justice. From well-known figures such as Georgia Davis Powers, Gov. Edward T. Breathitt, Anne Braden, and Julian Bond to student protesters and community leaders, the program presents a range of experiences. Produced by Arthur Rouse and Joan Brannon for the Kentucky Oral History Project.

Show all past Living the Story: The Civil Rights Movement in Kentucky episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Living the Story: The Civil Rights Movement in Kentucky

58:32 | #0 | TV-PG

  • KETKY: Monday, July 31 at 4:00 PM ET / Monday, July 31 at 3:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Tuesday, August 1 at 3:00 AM ET / Tuesday, August 1 at 2:00 AM CT

Products

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   Kentucky Historical Society
   (502) 564-1792
   P.O. Box 1792
   Frankfort, KY 40602-1792