Crafting Tradition

Crafting Tradition

Pioneer families made baskets, fishing nets, quilts, brooms, and furniture by hand, from whatever materials were available, because they had to. Today, these same items are mass-produced and readily available, but the hand-made versions persist for very different reasons. This 1993 KET documentary visits members of five Western Kentucky families to discover how they are preserving the tradition of hand-crafting these household items-and why they believe it is important to maintain this link to the past.

Recent Episodes

Crafting Tradition | Saturday, June 24 at 4:00 PM ET / Saturday, June 24 at 3:00 PM CT

Show all past Crafting Tradition episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Crafting Tradition

57:40 | #0

  • KETKY: Sunday, August 13 at 3:00 PM ET / Sunday, August 13 at 2:00 PM CT

Products

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   KET Duplication Services
   (800) 945-9167
   600 Cooper Drive
   Lexington, KY 40502-2296
   shop@ket.org