James Still's River of Earth

James Still

A portrait of one of Kentucky's most distinguished and honored writers, an Alabama native who moved to Knott County in 1931 and made it his home until his death in the spring of 2001. His publishing career spanned 70 years and included the novel River of Earth as well as short stories, children's books, collections of mountain lore and sayings, and poetry. This 1997 KET production features interviews with Still and people who knew him as well as archival photographs, reminiscences, and readings from the works that made Still the dean of Appalachian literature.

Recent Episodes

James Still's River of Earth | Friday, April 21 at 10:00 AM ET / Friday, April 21 at 9:00 AM CT

Show all past James Still's River of Earth episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

James Still's River of Earth

58:20 | #0 | TV-G

  • KETKY: Tuesday, June 13 at 3:00 AM ET / Tuesday, June 13 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, June 16 at 11:00 AM ET / Friday, June 16 at 10:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, June 23 at 3:00 AM ET / Friday, June 23 at 2:00 AM CT

Products

DOWNLOADABLE GUIDE: http://www.ket.org/education/guides/jstill.pdf
   Price available upon request.
   PDF format
   KET Online

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   KET Duplication Services
   (800) 945-9167
   600 Cooper Drive
   Lexington, KY 40502-2296
   shop@ket.org