Lexington in the 40s: Swingin' in the Bluegrass

Lexington in the 40s: Swingin

Central Kentuckians recall the big band music scene in the Bluegrass during the World War II era, when Lexingtonians danced in clubs like Joyland, the Green Dome, and the Cotton Club and in the ballrooms of the Phoenix and Lafayette hotels. Archival photographs and film footage, some not seen since the 1940s, illustrate the memories of those places and times.

Recent Episodes

Lexington in the 40s: Swingin' in the Bluegrass | Monday, May 22 at 12:00 PM ET / Monday, May 22 at 11:00 AM CT

Show all past Lexington in the 40s: Swingin' in the Bluegrass episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Lexington in the 40s: Swingin' in the Bluegrass

58:30 | #0 | TV-G

  • KETKY: Saturday, June 3 at 5:00 PM ET / Saturday, June 3 at 4:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Monday, June 5 at 3:00 AM ET / Monday, June 5 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Saturday, July 29 at 4:00 PM ET / Saturday, July 29 at 3:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Sunday, July 30 at 11:00 AM ET / Sunday, July 30 at 10:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Wednesday, August 2 at 9:00 PM ET / Wednesday, August 2 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Saturday, August 5 at 12:00 PM ET / Saturday, August 5 at 11:00 AM CT

Products

DVD:
   Price available upon request.
   Pledge premium only.
   KET Membership
   (800) 866-0366

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   Pledge premium only.
   KET Membership
   (800) 866-0366