Mark Twain

Mark Twain

An illuminating and touching portrait of Mark Twain, born Samuel Clemens, one of the greatest writers in American history. In the latest of Ken Burns' "American Lives" series, his subject is the man who created an American literature. In his time, Twain was considered the funniest man on earth. Yet he was also an unflinching critic of human nature, using his humor to attack hypocrisy, greed and racism. Keith David narrates the two-part documentary, which includes interviews with Arthur Miller, William Styron, Hal Holbrook and others, and more than 600 still photographs gathered from more than 100 different archives.

Show all past Mark Twain episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Part One

01:56:46 | #101 | TV-PG

  • KET: Tuesday, August 28 at 8:00 PM ET / Tuesday, August 28 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KET2: Wednesday, August 29 at 12:00 AM ET / Tuesday, August 28 at 11:00 PM CT
  • KET2: Thursday, August 30 at 3:00 AM ET / Thursday, August 30 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Friday, August 31 at 2:00 AM ET / Friday, August 31 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Friday, August 31 at 9:00 PM ET / Friday, August 31 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KET: Tuesday, September 4 at 3:00 AM ET / Tuesday, September 4 at 2:00 AM CT

Part Two

01:56:46 | #102 | TV-PG

  • KET: Tuesday, September 4 at 8:00 PM ET / Tuesday, September 4 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KET2: Wednesday, September 5 at 2:30 AM ET / Wednesday, September 5 at 1:30 AM CT
  • KET2: Thursday, September 6 at 3:00 AM ET / Thursday, September 6 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Friday, September 7 at 2:00 AM ET / Friday, September 7 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Sunday, September 9 at 8:00 PM ET / Sunday, September 9 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KET2: Monday, September 10 at 3:00 AM ET / Monday, September 10 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KET: Tuesday, September 11 at 3:00 AM ET / Tuesday, September 11 at 2:00 AM CT

Products

BOOK:
   $40.00
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

CD:
   $18.98
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

DVD:
   Price available upon request.
   $26.98, plus shipping and handling.
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

DVD, BOOK, AND CD:
   $66.98
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

VHS, BOOK, AND CD:
   $62.48
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

VIDEO:
   $22.48
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org