Rising from the Rails: The Story of the Pullman Porter

The documentary explores the little-known history of the African American men hired to work on railroad sleeping cars beginning in the late 1860s. Serving wealthy white passengers in the golden age of rail travel, the Pullman Porters carried labor organizing skills, civil rights ideals, and elements of black culture across the country.

Show all past Rising from the Rails: The Story of the Pullman Porter episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Rising from the Rails: The Story of the Pullman Porter

46:18 | #0 | TV-PG

  • KET: Monday, February 12 at 9:00 PM ET / Monday, February 12 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KET: Friday, February 16 at 3:00 AM ET / Friday, February 16 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KET2: Sunday, February 18 at 10:00 PM ET / Sunday, February 18 at 9:00 PM CT
  • KET2: Wednesday, February 21 at 12:00 PM ET / Wednesday, February 21 at 11:00 AM CT