Great Leaders: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson

Great Leaders: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson

A biography of Kentucky civil rights pioneer Lyman Johnson, told mostly in his own words. Born in Columbia, TN, into a family not far removed from slavery, Johnson earned bachelor's and master's degrees and then spent 40 years working for the Jefferson County schools. Along the way, he campaigned for equal rights for African-American teachers; was the plaintiff in the lawsuit that opened the University of Kentucky to black students; and worked for such organizations as the Kentucky Civil Liberties Union, the Urban League, and the Louisville chapter of the NAACP. Produced by WKPC/15, Louisville.

Recent Episodes

Great Leaders: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson | Saturday, February 11 at 8:00 PM ET / Saturday, February 11 at 7:00 PM CT

Show all past Great Leaders: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Great Leaders: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson

57:05 | #0 | First Aired: November 10, 2008

  • KETKY: Tuesday, April 4 at 10:00 AM ET / Tuesday, April 4 at 9:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, April 13 at 1:00 AM ET / Thursday, April 13 at 12:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, April 13 at 11:00 AM ET / Thursday, April 13 at 10:00 AM CT