Headwaters: Real Stories from Rural America

To Save the Land and People

56:42 | #206 | TV-G

A history of early grassroots efforts to stop strip mining in Eastern Kentucky, where "broad-form" deeds signed at the beginning of the 20th century let coal operators destroy land to get at the minerals underneath without getting the permission of, or compensating, the surface owner. The Appalachian group To Save the Land and People used every means possible—from legal petitions and local ordinances to guns and dynamite—to fight the abuses.

Series Website

www.appalshop.org

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 12:00 AM ET / Saturday, August 11, 2018 at 11:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 12:00 PM ET / Sunday, August 12, 2018 at 11:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 11:00 PM ET / Tuesday, August 14, 2018 at 10:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Wednesday, August 15, 2018 at 2:00 AM ET / Wednesday, August 15, 2018 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 7:00 AM ET / Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 6:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Saturday, August 18, 2018 at 10:00 AM ET / Saturday, August 18, 2018 at 9:00 AM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: May 19, 2018 at 10:00 AM ET / May 19, 2018 at 9:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 17, 2018 at 7:00 AM ET / May 17, 2018 at 6:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 16, 2018 at 2:00 AM ET / May 16, 2018 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 15, 2018 at 11:00 PM ET / May 15, 2018 at 10:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: May 13, 2018 at 12:00 PM ET / May 13, 2018 at 11:00 AM CT
First Aired: July 7, 2003