Great Leaders: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson

57:05 | #0

A biography of Kentucky civil rights pioneer Lyman Johnson, told mostly in his own words. Born in Columbia, TN, into a family not far removed from slavery, Johnson earned bachelor's and master's degrees and then spent 40 years working for the Jefferson County schools. Along the way, he campaigned for equal rights for African-American teachers; was the plaintiff in the lawsuit that opened the University of Kentucky to black students; and worked for such organizations as the Kentucky Civil Liberties Union, the Urban League, and the Louisville chapter of the NAACP. Produced by WKPC/15, Louisville.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: July 12, 2019 at 4:00 PM ET / July 12, 2019 at 3:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: July 12, 2019 at 7:30 AM ET / July 12, 2019 at 6:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 23, 2019 at 2:00 AM ET / April 23, 2019 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 13, 2019 at 2:00 PM ET / April 13, 2019 at 1:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: January 28, 2019 at 3:00 AM ET / January 28, 2019 at 2:00 AM CT
First Aired: November 10, 2008