Kentucky in Africa

Loading the player...

24:55 | #0

A special edition of Kentucky Life, revised for classroom use, that explores the Kentucky connection to the founding and development of the nation of Liberia. The story of how and why thousands of freed African-American slaves undertook the hazardous journey across the Atlantic to build a new country in Africa is told partly in the words of such notable figures as Abraham Lincoln; Henry Clay; and Alfred Russell, a Kentuckian who became president of Liberia. A visit to an area still known as "Kentucky in Africa" explores the continuing legacy of these 19th-century pioneers.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Friday, February 22, 2019 at 10:00 AM ET / Friday, February 22, 2019 at 9:00 AM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KET2: January 11, 2019 at 10:34 PM ET / January 11, 2019 at 9:34 PM CT
  • KET: January 5, 2019 at 10:34 PM ET / January 5, 2019 at 9:34 PM CT
  • KETKY: November 17, 2018 at 2:00 PM ET / November 17, 2018 at 1:00 PM CT
  • KET2: November 10, 2018 at 12:02 AM ET / November 9, 2018 at 11:02 PM CT
  • KETKY: August 26, 2018 at 9:30 AM ET / August 26, 2018 at 8:30 AM CT
First Aired: August 15, 2005