Kentucky Life

Loading the player...

The Liberian Connection

27:30 | #1106 | TV-G

Travels to Africa to explore the origins of Liberia, a country founded by African-American slaves who were offered their freedom if they were willing to leave America and start a new nation in West Africa. In an area still referred to as "Kentucky in Africa," the principal town, Clay-Ashland, was named to honor Henry Clay, U.S. senator from Kentucky and president of the American Colonization Society in the 1800s. A 2005 KET production.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: October 13, 2015 at 5:30 PM ET / October 13, 2015 at 4:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: January 19, 2015 at 5:30 PM ET / January 19, 2015 at 4:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: January 27, 2014 at 5:30 PM ET / January 27, 2014 at 4:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: February 21, 2013 at 5:32 PM ET / February 21, 2013 at 4:32 PM CT
  • KETKY: February 21, 2013 at 5:30 PM ET / February 21, 2013 at 4:30 PM CT
First Aired: February 5, 2005