Lexington in the 40s: Swingin' in the Bluegrass

58:30 | #0 | TV-G

Central Kentuckians recall the big band music scene in the Bluegrass during the World War II era, when Lexingtonians danced in clubs like Joyland, the Green Dome, and the Cotton Club and in the ballrooms of the Phoenix and Lafayette hotels. Archival photographs and film footage, some not seen since the 1940s, illustrate the memories of those places and times.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 6:00 PM ET / Tuesday, September 26, 2017 at 5:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 9:00 PM ET / Wednesday, September 27, 2017 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 12:00 PM ET / Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 11:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 7:00 PM ET / Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 6:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 3:00 AM ET / Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 10:00 PM ET / Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 9:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Monday, October 16, 2017 at 9:00 AM ET / Monday, October 16, 2017 at 8:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 3:00 AM ET / Tuesday, October 24, 2017 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, November 23, 2017 at 4:00 AM ET / Thursday, November 23, 2017 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Tuesday, November 28, 2017 at 11:00 AM ET / Tuesday, November 28, 2017 at 10:00 AM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: September 13, 2017 at 3:00 AM ET / September 13, 2017 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: August 5, 2017 at 12:00 PM ET / August 5, 2017 at 11:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: August 2, 2017 at 9:00 PM ET / August 2, 2017 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: July 30, 2017 at 11:00 AM ET / July 30, 2017 at 10:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: July 29, 2017 at 4:00 PM ET / July 29, 2017 at 3:00 PM CT
First Aired: December 4, 2003