Skip to Main Content

American Masters

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

Miles Davis: Birth of the Cool

Video Information

Miles Davis: Birth of the Cool

Discover the man behind the legend. With full access to the Miles Davis Estate, the film features never-before-seen footage, including studio outtakes from his recording sessions, rare photos and new interviews.
S34 E1 Length 1:53:35 Premiere: 2.25.20

Program Details

American Masters

About American Masters

American Masters, committed to producing comprehensive film biographies about the broad cast of characters who comprise our cultural history.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Hedy Lamarr: American Masters - S31 E4

Discover the story of the most beautiful woman in the world, who was also an ingenious inventor. Her pioneering work helped revolutionize modern communication, including WiFi, GPS, and Bluetooth.

  • Sunday May 31, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Sunday May 31, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET

Terrence McNally - S32 E6

Explore Tony-winning playwright Terrence McNally's six groundbreaking decades in theater. The film delves into McNally's pursuit of love and inspiration, LGBTQ activism, triumph over addiction, and the power of the arts to transform society.

  • Tuesday June 2, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Tuesday June 2, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2

Mae West: Dirty Blonde

Explore the life and career of groundbreaking writer, performer, and subversive star Mae West, who broke boundaries and possessed creative and economic powers unheard of for a female entertainer in the 1930s.

  • Tuesday June 16, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday June 16, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday June 17, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Tuesday June 16, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday June 17, 2020 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday June 17, 2020 12:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday June 18, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday June 18, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Thursday June 18, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday June 18, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Saturday June 20, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday June 20, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Monday June 22, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday June 22, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET2

Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am

Author Toni Morrison leads an assembly of her peers and critics on an exploration of the significant themes she confronted throughout her literary career.

  • Tuesday June 30, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday June 30, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Hedy Lamarr: American Masters - S31 E4

  • Saturday May 30, 2020 1:30 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 30, 2020 12:30 am CT on KET2

Sammy Davis, Jr.: American Masters - S27 E7

  • Tuesday May 26, 2020 3:30 am ET on KET2
  • Tuesday May 26, 2020 2:30 am CT on KET2
  • Monday May 25, 2020 1:30 am ET on KET2
  • Monday May 25, 2020 12:30 am CT on KET2
  • Sunday May 24, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Sunday May 24, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Saturday May 23, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 23, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET2
  • Friday May 22, 2020 9:30 pm ET on KET
  • Friday May 22, 2020 8:30 pm CT on KET

Eero Saarinen: American Masters - S30 E1

  • Wednesday May 13, 2020 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday May 13, 2020 11:00 am CT on KET

Maya Angelou - S30 E2

  • Thursday May 7, 2020 3:00 pm ET on KET
  • Thursday May 7, 2020 2:00 pm CT on KET

Julia Child: American Masters - S18 E1

  • Monday May 4, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Monday May 4, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday May 2, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 2, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2

Margaret Mitchell: American Rebel - S25 E3

  • Friday May 1, 2020 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday May 1, 2020 1:00 pm CT on KET

Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women - S22 E7

  • Wednesday April 29, 2020 3:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday April 29, 2020 2:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Season 34: Season 34

Miles Davis: Birth of the Cool

S34 E1 Length 1:53:35 Premiere Date 2.25.20

Explore KET