Skip to Main Content

One Child Nation

One Child Nation

Video Information

One Child Nation

After the birth of her first child, filmmaker Nanfu Wang returns to China to speak with her family and explore the ripple effect of that country's devastating social experiment, the one-child policy. At its core, One Child Nation is a riveting personal story revealing shocking human rights violations and forces us all to reckon with the consequences of blind obedience.
S21 E13 Length 1:26:05 Premiere: 3.30.20

Program Details

Independent Lens

About Independent Lens

Independent Lens is television’s largest showcase of independent documentary film, airing Monday nights on most PBS member stations. Check your local listings, and don’t miss an episode.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Bedlam

Follow a filmmaker to ERs, jails, and homeless camps to hear personal stories behind the mental illness health crisis.

  • Monday April 13, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday April 13, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET
  • Monday April 13, 2020 9:30 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday April 13, 2020 8:30 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday April 14, 2020 11:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Tuesday April 14, 2020 10:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday April 17, 2020 11:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday April 17, 2020 10:00 pm CT on KET2

The Hottest August

Ordinary New Yorkers talk about some of the biggest problems they face from climate change to skyrocketing rents in August 2017.

  • Monday April 20, 2020 6:30 pm ET on KET
  • Monday April 20, 2020 5:30 pm CT on KET
  • Monday April 20, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday April 20, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday April 22, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Tuesday April 21, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday April 24, 2020 11:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday April 24, 2020 10:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday April 26, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday April 25, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2

Jim Allison: Breakthrough

Meet a visionary doctor discovering a new way to use the immune system to help defeat cancer.

  • Monday April 27, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday April 27, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET
  • Monday April 27, 2020 9:30 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday April 27, 2020 8:30 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday April 28, 2020 11:30 pm ET on KET2
  • Tuesday April 28, 2020 10:30 pm CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

One Child Nation

  • Tuesday March 31, 2020 11:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Tuesday March 31, 2020 10:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Monday March 30, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday March 30, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET

I Am Another You - S19 E8

  • Tuesday March 17, 2020 11:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Tuesday March 17, 2020 10:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Monday March 16, 2020 9:30 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday March 16, 2020 8:30 pm CT on KET2

National Bird - S18 E15

  • Friday March 13, 2020 11:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Friday March 13, 2020 10:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Thursday March 12, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Thursday March 12, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday March 10, 2020 11:30 pm ET on KET2
  • Tuesday March 10, 2020 10:30 pm CT on KET2
  • Monday March 9, 2020 9:30 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday March 9, 2020 8:30 pm CT on KET2
Top

Season 21

The Hottest August

S21 E15 Length 56:04 Premiere Date 4.20.20

One Child Nation

S21 E13 Length 1:26:05 Premiere Date 3.30.20

Always in Season

S21 E12 Length 1:25:45 Premiere Date 2.24.20

We Believe In Dinosaurs

S21 E11 Length 1:26:04 Premiere Date 2.17.20

Leftover Women

S21 E10 Length 1:25:03 Premiere Date 2.10.20

Cooked: Survival by Zip Code

S21 E9 Length 56:05 Premiere Date 2.3.20

Accept the Call

S21 E7 Length 1:22:45 Premiere Date 1.20.20

The First Rainbow Coalition

S21 E6 Length 56:05 Premiere Date 1.27.20

Decade of Fire

S21 E2 Length 56:00 Premiere Date 11.4.19

Explore KET