Skip to Main Content

Hippos: Africa's River Giants

Hippos: Africa's River Giants

Video Information

Hippos: Africa's River Giants

Go beneath the surface and meet Africa’s river giants, the hippos. Discover an unexpected side of these aquatic mammals that can’t even swim as hippos protect their families, face their enemies and suffer in a drought. Narrated by David Attenborough.
S38 E10 Length 53:14 Premiere: 1.15.20

Program Details

Nature

About Nature

NATURE brings the beauty and wonder of the natural world into your home, becoming in the process the benchmark for natural history programs.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Wild Way of the Vikings - S36 E10

Travel from Norway to Newfoundland, just as the seafaring warriors did in 1,000 A.D., to get a glimpse of the Vikings' world in the Americas hundreds of years before Columbus. Ewan McGregor narrates.

  • Friday January 24, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday January 24, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday January 25, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday January 25, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday January 26, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday January 26, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2

The Cheetah Children - S35 E5

For nearly two years in the forested hills of Zimbabwe, wildlife cameraman Kim Wolhuter shadowed a wild cheetah family on foot, to reveal the cubs' remarkable journey to adulthood and their mother's dedication in raising them.

  • Wednesday January 29, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 29, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday January 30, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday January 29, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Thursday January 30, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday January 30, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday January 31, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday January 31, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday February 1, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday February 1, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday February 2, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 2, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2

Jungle Animal Hospital - S33 E16

Witness the day-to-day drama at one of the world's wildest animal hospitals deep in the Guatemalan jungle. A vet and his team take on dangerous challenges as they care for endangered animals - from stitching up a rare baby bird to wresting a crocodile.

  • Thursday February 6, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday February 6, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Sunday February 9, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 9, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2

Nature's Miniature Miracles - S35 E6

This film tells the epic survival stories of the world's smallest animals, from a tiny sengi, the "cheetah" of the shrew world, to a small shark that walks on land. For these animals, size does not matter.

  • Thursday February 6, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday February 6, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Saturday February 8, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday February 8, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2

Wild Florida - S37 E11

A growing human population and abandoned exotic pets like pythons are threatening Florida's ecosystems.

  • Wednesday February 12, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday February 12, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday February 13, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday February 12, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Thursday February 13, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday February 13, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday February 14, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday February 14, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday February 15, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday February 15, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday February 16, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 16, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2

The Mighty Weasel - S37 E12

Follow the adventures of a first-time weasel mom, fearless honey badger, and a tiny orphan weasel. Do these critters deserve their bad reputation?

  • Wednesday February 19, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday February 19, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET
  • Thursday February 20, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday February 19, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Thursday February 20, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday February 20, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday February 21, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday February 21, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday February 22, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday February 22, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Sunday February 23, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday February 23, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Wild Way of the Vikings - S36 E10

  • Thursday January 23, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday January 23, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday January 23, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday January 22, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday January 22, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 22, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET

Hippos: Africa's River Giants - S37 E10

  • Sunday January 19, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday January 19, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday January 18, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday January 18, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday January 17, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday January 17, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Thursday January 16, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday January 16, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday January 16, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday January 15, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday January 15, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 15, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

The Whale Detective - S37 E9

  • Sunday January 12, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday January 12, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday January 11, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday January 11, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday January 10, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday January 10, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Thursday January 9, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday January 9, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday January 9, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday January 8, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday January 8, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 8, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET

Animal Reunions - S33 E13

  • Sunday January 5, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday January 5, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday January 4, 2020 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday January 4, 2020 5:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday January 3, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday January 3, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Thursday January 2, 2020 5:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday January 2, 2020 4:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday January 2, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday January 1, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday January 1, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 1, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET

Nature's Miniature Miracles - S35 E6

  • Saturday December 28, 2019 6:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Saturday December 28, 2019 5:00 pm CT on KET2
Top

Season 38

Hippos: Africa's River Giants

S38 E10 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 1.15.20

The Whale Detective

S38 E9 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 1.8.20

Bears

S38 E8 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 11.20.19

Nature's Biggest Beasts

S38 E7 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 11.13.19

Okavango: River of Dreams - Episode 3: Inferno

S38 E6 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 11.6.19

Okavango: River of Dreams - Episode 2: Limbo

S38 E5 Length 53:44 Premiere Date 10.30.19

Okavango: River of Dreams - Episode 1: Paradise

S38 E4 Length 53:44 Premiere Date 10.23.19

Undercover in the Jungle

S38 E3 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 10.16.19

The Serengeti Rules

S38 E2 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 10.9.19

Octopus: Making Contact

S38 E1 Length 53:14 Premiere Date 10.2.19

Explore KET