Skip to Main Content

This video is only available in KET Passport. Learn More

A Strong and Active Faith (1944-1962)

Video Information

A Strong and Active Faith (1944-1962)

Frail and failing but determined to see the war through to victory, FDR wins re-election and begins planning for a peaceful postwar world, but a cerebral hemorrhage kills him at 63. After her husband’s death, Eleanor Roosevelt proves herself a shrewd politician and a skilled negotiator in her own right, as well as a champion of civil rights, civil liberties and the United Nations.
S1 E7 Length 1:51:33 Premiere: 9.20.14

Program Details

The Roosevelts

About The Roosevelts

The Roosevelts: An Intimate History chronicles the lives of Theodore, Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, three members of the most prominent and influential family in American politics.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Get Action (1858-1901) - S1 E1

A frail, asthmatic young Theodore Roosevelt transforms himself to become the youngest president in American history at 42. Meanwhile, Franklin Delano Roosevelt follows his older cousin's career with worshipful fascination.

  • Monday June 1, 2020 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday June 1, 2020 12:00 pm CT on KET

In the Arena (1901-1910) - S1 E2

Theodore Roosevelt transforms the office of the presidency, builds the Panama Canal, preserves American wilderness, and carries the message of American might around the world. FDR courts and weds Eleanor Roosevelt and runs for the New York state senate.

  • Monday June 8, 2020 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday June 8, 2020 12:00 pm CT on KET

The Fire of Life (1910-1919) - S1 E3

Theodore Roosevelt leads a Progressive crusade that splits his own party, undertakes a deadly expedition, and campaigns for American entry into World War I. Franklin masters wartime Washington, while Eleanor finds salvation in war work after discovering Franklin's romance with another woman. TR's death at 60 is almost universally mourned.

  • Monday June 15, 2020 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday June 15, 2020 12:00 pm CT on KET

The Storm (1920-1933) - S1 E4

Franklin Roosevelt struggles to walk again as a result of polio, while Eleanor builds a personal and political life of her own. FDR serves as governor of New York and becomes the presidential nominee for the Democrats in 1932.

  • Monday June 22, 2020 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday June 22, 2020 12:00 pm CT on KET

The Rising Road (1933-1939) - S1 E5

Determined to end the Depression, FDR enacts his sweeping New Deal. Eleanor rejects the traditional role of first lady. As the decade ends, FDR faces two grave questions: whether to run for an unprecedented third term and how to deal with the rise of Hitler.

  • Monday June 29, 2020 1:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday June 29, 2020 12:00 pm CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Get Action (1858-1901) - S1 E1

  • Monday May 18, 2020 3:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday May 18, 2020 2:00 pm CT on KET

The Rising Road (1933-1939) - S1 E5

  • Monday May 4, 2020 3:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday May 4, 2020 2:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday May 3, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 3, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2

A Strong and Active Faith (1944-1962) - S1 E7

  • Monday May 25, 2020 3:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday May 25, 2020 2:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday May 17, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 17, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday May 1, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday May 1, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2

The Common Cause (1939-1944) - S1 E6

  • Monday May 11, 2020 3:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday May 11, 2020 2:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday May 10, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 10, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Friday May 1, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday May 1, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET2
Top

Season 1

A Strong and Active Faith (1944-1962)

S1 E7 Length 1:51:33 Premiere Date 9.20.14

The Common Cause (1939-1944)

S1 E6 Length 1:55:05 Premiere Date 9.19.14

The Rising Road (1933-1939)

S1 E5 Length 1:56:40 Premiere Date 9.17.14

The Storm (1920-1933)

S1 E4 Length 1:56:40 Premiere Date 9.17.14

The Fire of Life (1910-1919)

S1 E3 Length 1:56:30 Premiere Date 9.17.14

In the Arena (1901-1910)

S1 E2 Length 1:56:20 Premiere Date 9.15.14

Get Action (1858-1901)

S1 E1 Length 1:54:57 Premiere Date 9.14.14

Explore KET