The National Parks: America's Best Idea

The National Parks: America

The series, directed by Ken Burns and co-produced with his longtime colleague, Dayton Duncan, who also wrote the script, is the story of an idea as uniquely American as the Declaration of Independence and just as radical: that the most special places in the nation should be preserved for everyone.

Show all past The National Parks: America's Best Idea episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

The Scripture of Nature (1851-1890)

01:56:46 | #101 | TV-G

  • KET2: Sunday, August 20 at 9:00 PM ET / Sunday, August 20 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, August 24 at 2:00 AM ET / Thursday, August 24 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KET: Saturday, August 26 at 2:00 AM ET / Saturday, August 26 at 1:00 AM CT

The Last Refuge (1890-1915)

02:26:46 | #102 | TV-G

  • KET2: Sunday, August 27 at 9:00 PM ET / Sunday, August 27 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, August 31 at 2:00 AM ET / Thursday, August 31 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KET: Saturday, September 2 at 2:00 AM ET / Saturday, September 2 at 1:00 AM CT

The Empire of Grandeur (1915-1919)

01:56:46 | #103 | TV-G

  • KET2: Sunday, September 3 at 9:00 PM ET / Sunday, September 3 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KET: Saturday, September 9 at 2:00 AM ET / Saturday, September 9 at 1:00 AM CT

Going Home (1920-1933)

01:57:30 | #104 | TV-G

  • KET2: Sunday, September 10 at 9:00 PM ET / Sunday, September 10 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KET: Saturday, September 16 at 2:00 AM ET / Saturday, September 16 at 1:00 AM CT

Great Nature (1933-1945)

01:56:46 | #105 | TV-PG

  • KET2: Sunday, September 17 at 9:00 PM ET / Sunday, September 17 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KET: Saturday, September 23 at 2:00 AM ET / Saturday, September 23 at 1:00 AM CT

The Morning of Creation (1946-1980)

01:56:47 | #106 | TV-G

  • KET2: Sunday, September 24 at 9:00 PM ET / Sunday, September 24 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KET: Monday, September 25 at 3:00 AM ET / Monday, September 25 at 2:00 AM CT