Louisville Life

Bob Edwards/Underground Railroad/Derby and Oaks History/Frazier Museum/Black Jockeys

28:50 | #124 | TV-G

Radio journalist and Louisville native Bob Edwards discusses childhood memories and life on satellite radio. Historian and archaeologist Karolyn Smardz Frost tells the story of a Louisville couple who escaped from slavery via the Underground Railroad in 1831. And John Asher, vice president of communications at Churchill Downs, talks about the history and tradition of the Kentucky Oaks and Kentucky Derby. Also, the Frazier International History Museum and a look at early black jockeys in Kentucky. A 2007 KET production hosted by Candyce Clifft.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KET2: September 16, 2007 at 12:00 PM ET / September 16, 2007 at 11:00 AM CT
  • KET2: September 14, 2007 at 4:00 PM ET / September 14, 2007 at 3:00 PM CT
  • KET: September 14, 2007 at 12:30 AM ET / September 13, 2007 at 11:30 PM CT
  • KET2: September 13, 2007 at 7:30 PM ET / September 13, 2007 at 6:30 PM CT
  • KET2: May 6, 2007 at 12:00 PM ET / May 6, 2007 at 11:00 AM CT
First Aired: May 3, 2007