Skip to Main Content

Admiral James Stavridis and Melissa Block

Admiral James Stavridis and Melissa Block

Video Information

Admiral James Stavridis and Melissa Block

Admiral James Stavridis, a retired 4-star Naval officer and former Supreme Allied Commander of the NATO Alliance, sits down with NPR host Melissa Block to talk about his new book, Sailing True North: Ten Admirals and the Voyage of Character. The interview was recorded at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum.
S21 E2 Length 56:38 Premiere: 3.16.20

Program Details

Great Conversations

About Great Conversations

This series showcases a diverse and fascinating array of authors and interviewers from a wide range of fields including politics, science, education, public journalism, and the arts. Interviews are taped at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum in Louisville, Kentucky.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Elaine Pagels and Gustav Niebuhr - S15 E4

Religion scholar Elaine Pagels, Harrington Spear Paine Professor of Religion at Princeton University and author of numerous books including The Gnostic Gospels and Revelations: Visions, Prophecy, and Politics in the Book of Revelation, is interviewed by Gustav Niebuhr, associate professor in religion and the media at Syracuse University. The interview was recorded at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum.

  • Sunday April 5, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 5, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 5, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 5, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 5, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 5, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY

Admiral James Stavridis and Melissa Block

Admiral James Stavridis, a retired 4-star Naval officer and former Supreme Allied Commander of the NATO Alliance, sits down with NPR host Melissa Block to talk about his new book, Sailing True North: Ten Admirals and the Voyage of Character. The interview was recorded at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum.

  • Monday April 6, 2020 3:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Monday April 6, 2020 2:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Monday April 6, 2020 11:30 am ET on KETKY
  • Monday April 6, 2020 10:30 am CT on KETKY
  • Monday April 6, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Monday April 6, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Thursday April 9, 2020 12:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Wednesday April 8, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Thursday April 9, 2020 8:30 am ET on KETKY
  • Thursday April 9, 2020 7:30 am CT on KETKY
  • Thursday April 9, 2020 5:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Thursday April 9, 2020 4:00 pm CT on KETKY

Congressman John Lewis and Rachel Maddow - S16 E1

U.S. Congressman John Lewis is turning to the graphic novel format to discuss the Civil Rights Movement with March, a vivid first-hand account of his lifelong struggle for civil and human rights. Congressman Lewis is interviewed by MSNBC's Rachel Maddow. The interview was recorded at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum.

  • Sunday April 12, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 12, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 12, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 12, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 12, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 12, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY

Dani Shapiro and Robert Siegel - S21 E1

Author Dani Shapiro discusses her book Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity and Love, with Robert Siegel, retired host of NPR's All Things Considered. Inheritance is a book about secrets and a woman's urgent quest to unlock the story of her identity. The interview was recorded at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum.

  • Sunday April 19, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 19, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 19, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 19, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 19, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 19, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Wednesday April 29, 2020 7:30 am ET on KETKY
  • Wednesday April 29, 2020 6:30 am CT on KETKY
  • Wednesday April 29, 2020 4:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Wednesday April 29, 2020 3:00 pm CT on KETKY

Pat Conroy and Maureen Corrigan - S16 E2

Author Pat Conroy discusses his powerful new memoir, The Death of Santini, the further story of his father, the inspiration for his acclaimed novel, The Great Santini. He is interviewed by NPR's Maureen Corrigan. The interview was recorded at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum.

  • Sunday April 26, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 26, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 26, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 26, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday April 26, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday April 26, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY

Chris Matthews and E. J. Dionne, Jr. - S16 E3

Chris Matthews, host of MSNBC's Hardball, discusses his book Tip and the Gipper: When Politics Worked with E. J. Dionne, Jr., senior fellow at the Brookings Institution and syndicated columnist for The Washington Post. The interview was recorded at the University of Louisville Kentucky Author Forum.

  • Sunday May 3, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday May 3, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Sunday May 3, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday May 3, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday May 3, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday May 3, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Ray Kurzweil and Jim Fleming - S15 E2

  • Sunday March 22, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 22, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 22, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 22, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 22, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 22, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY

Admiral James Stavridis and Melissa Block

  • Sunday March 29, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 29, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 29, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 29, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 29, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 29, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY
  • Thursday March 26, 2020 4:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Thursday March 26, 2020 3:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Thursday March 26, 2020 7:30 am ET on KETKY
  • Thursday March 26, 2020 6:30 am CT on KETKY
  • Thursday March 19, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Thursday March 19, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday March 18, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday March 18, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday March 16, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday March 16, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

Steven Pinker and Neal Conan - S15 E1

  • Sunday March 15, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 15, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 15, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 15, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY

Ahmed Rashid and Clarissa Ward - S14 E5

  • Sunday March 8, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 8, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 8, 2020 1:30 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 8, 2020 12:30 pm CT on KETKY
  • Sunday March 8, 2020 5:00 am ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 8, 2020 4:00 am CT on KETKY

Erik Larson and Robert Siegel - S14 E4

  • Sunday March 1, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Sunday March 1, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KETKY
Top

Season 21

Admiral James Stavridis and Melissa Block

S21 E2 Length 56:38 Premiere Date 3.16.20

Dani Shapiro and Robert Siegel

S21 E1 Length 56:37 Premiere Date 11.11.19

Explore KET