Skip to Main Content

How Paul McCartney Wound Up Playing Drums on “Sunday Rain”

How Paul McCartney Wound Up Playing Drums on “Sunday Rain”

Foo Fighters frontman Dave Grohl speaks to Landmarks Live in Concert host Chad Smith about recording “Sunday Rain” with special guest Paul McCartney on drums. Captured this past July, Foo Fighters – Landmarks Live in Concert: A Great Performances Special premieres nationwide Friday, November 10 at 10 p.m. on PBS (check local listings).
Clip S45 E6 Length 02:29 Premiere: 11.10.17

Program Details

Great Performances

About Great Performances

Great Performances brings the best in the performing arts from across America and around the world to a US television audience. It presents a diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Vienna Philharmonic Summer Night Concert 2020

Enjoy the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra's performance of selections by Strauss, Wagner, Offenbach, Puccini and more. Valery Gergiev conducts featuring Metropolitan Opera tenor Jonas Kaufmann.

  • Friday June 25, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday June 25, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday June 27, 2021 12:01 am ET on KET
  • Saturday June 26, 2021 11:01 pm CT on KET
  • Monday June 28, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday June 28, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday June 30, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday June 30, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET2

Gloria Estefan: Sangre Yoruba

Singer Gloria Estefan visits three cities in Brazil and explores the origins of the country's music. She provides an inside look at her new Brazilian-influenced album.

  • Friday July 9, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday July 9, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Sunday July 11, 2021 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday July 10, 2021 11:30 pm CT on KET
  • Monday July 12, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday July 12, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday July 14, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday July 14, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

The Arts Interrupted

  • Wednesday May 19, 2021 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday May 19, 2021 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Sunday May 16, 2021 12:01 am ET on KET
  • Saturday May 15, 2021 11:01 pm CT on KET
  • Friday May 14, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday May 14, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET

Uncle Vanya

  • Friday May 14, 2021 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday May 14, 2021 2:00 am CT on KET2
Top

Season 45 Episodes

Chicago Voices

S45 E30 Length 53:46 Premiere Date 8.10.18

Havana Time Machine

S45 E1 Length 52:11 Premiere Date 10.6.17

Foo Fighters – Landmarks Live in Concert - Preview

Preview Length 01:22 Premiere Date 11.10.17

The Pretender

Clip Length 09:08 Premiere Date 11.10.17

Dave Grohl and Chad Smith Discuss Musical Influences

Clip Length 02:12 Premiere Date 11.10.17

Foo Fighters Perform "Sunday Rain" at the Acropolis

Clip Length 06:23 Premiere Date 11.10.17

Foo Fighters Perform "Sunday Rain" at the Acropolis

Clip Length 06:23 Premiere Date 11.10.17

Broadway's Best on PBS - Preview

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 10.20.17

In Memoriam: Diahann Carroll

Clip Length 01:07 Premiere Date 10.4.19

Broadway's Best 2019

Preview Length 00:26 Premiere Date 11.1.19

Improvisations, Movement #3

Clip Length 04:26 Premiere Date 3.23.10

A Ballet in Sneakers: Jerome Robbins and Opus Jazz

Clip Length 09:48 Premiere Date 4.13.10

Interview with Patrick Stewart

Clip Length 03:16 Premiere Date 4.14.10

Harry Connick, Jr. About being on Great Performances

Clip Length 01:30 Premiere Date 2.24.11

Explore KET